What’s the difference- mutant, mutate, or inhuman (Marvel)

classic xmen  f4 4 inhumans

In Marvel, many of it’s fine heroes and heroines have extraordinary abilities and powers. In Marvel, these folks can be broken down into three main categories though of course not every character fits, for example Thor, Vision, or Ghost Rider but this will help clear up questions I’ve gotten in the past such as ” is Captain America an Inhuman?” ” Is Spider-Man a mutant?” “What’s the difference between a mutant and mutate; what’s the difference between mutant and inhuman?”

Mutants primarily exist within X-men and are people who naturally develop powers around puberty. There powers can vary in there degree of devastation and physical change; I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t notice Wolverine, Storm, Cyclops, or Jean Grey walking down the street but guys like Beast, NightCrawler, or Apocalypse are a little harder to hide. Besides the X-men, other famous Marvel mutants include Submariner, Franklin Richards, and Cassie Lang (Stature). Submariner has flight capabilities unlike an other Atlantean and while Franklin’s parents aren’t mutants, he was born with powers, much like Cassie’s who developed later. Blade doesn’t count because he’s  vampire hybrid. I do get questions about Scarlet Witch, in regards to if she is magic or a mutant and I can’t really tell I’m afraid.

A mutate is someone who got powers from a source of some kind. This is where the Fantastic 4 fall into place as well as Spider-Man, Deadpool, Daredevil, Luke Cage, and Hulk just to name a few. The Four and Hulk got hit with radiation, Daredevil got chemicals to the face, Parker got bitten by a radioactive spider, and Deadpool and Cage got experiments done. Capt. America is a interesting specimen in this regard. Project Rebirth pushed his body to its upmost peak, pretty much the best a human body can be. Does he qualify? I think not just because he doesn’t technically have powers in that way but the argument is still there.

Finally there are Inhumans. Inhumans don’t really live on Earth exactly but on Attila, a moon kingdom per say. This gets weird. So they basically start as human, but through a rite of passage are exposed to the Terrigan Mists which transform them either, and depending how depends where you go in society. I’m not the biggest on Inhuman lore but I can tell you the royal family is not to be screwed with, especially Black Bolt, who is voluntarily mute because his voice causes mass destruction. I also know that if you expose a mutant to the mists they die. Members of the royal family include Black Bolt, Medusa, Gorgon, Triton, Karnack, Crystal, LockJaw, and Magnus; another notable Inhuman to include is Kamela Khan, the new Ms. Marvel.

I hope this helps put things into perspective a little better. As always best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.


Author: torstenvblog

Writer of the strange and everything; lover of horror, literature, comics, and the alien is my spirit animal

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: