X Men: Dark Phoenix trailer 3

I find it really weird how the marketing for this movie is going: there’s been delays, reshoots, we got one trailer months and months ago and weirdly we get two more full length trailers of original content within a week of each other.

As for the trailer itself, It looks Ok. I still can’t help but feel it’s X Men: The Last Stand reworked. Though I didn’t hate that movie as some did, after reading what I have in the original story, I feel they could’ve done better with setting it up. The Phoenix effects look better nice. Overall my feelings haven’t really changed since X Men: Dark Phoenix trailer 2 . May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Return of The Living Dead: Rave To The Grave

This is not a good movie. I am going to get that right out of the way. The dialogue is horrendously corny, the story itself is beyond ridiculous and mostly made no damn sense. Seriously, I am not even going to explain it. Okay, that is a lie, I have to. Kinda my thing.  Basically, the guy finds a container, the container contains a drug that creates zombies, the guy gets killed by zombies. His nephew finds a different container the uncle had hidden because his uncle had 3 of the damn things hidden in a room in the attic nobody knew about. Yup, dude lives in the house for 18 years with his uncle and parents, nobody knew about the hidden room. They use these containers of zombie making mystery substance to make drugs that they sell.

This was not a good movie, it was, however, fun. Don’t think about the story or crappy script both of which seem to have been made by students on a drunk weekend. That is what makes it fun, a nice chunk of the movie is a drug and booze filled parry seen of breast and senseless violence like an 80’s slasher flick. The movie is not good. It is however fun. If you like 80’s horror films that make no real sense but are fun this is for you. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Hellboy 2019 trailer 2

So we got a legitimate Red Band R rated trailer for Hellboy 2019 and I’m actually pretty glad we have confirmation it’ll be R rated. I can’t tell you how much it pissed me off when Venom was made Pg-13; I feel the R rating does Hellboy it’s own identity. I like this trailer better but I still feel uneasy about the movie overall. Maybe it’s my attachment to the original Hellboy movies but I’m honestly worried we’re getting a R rated MCU movie. Time will tell but until then may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Final Destination 2

final destination 2

Final Destination failed to me as a horror movie in damn near every way, but damn did I laugh my ass off. I had had heard the series got more crazier and more convoluted as it continues, so with that notion I happily tuned into the sequel. So was my appetite for mayhem and WTF moments quenched?

A year after the fabled plane crash of Flight 180, a group of friends is going on a road trip. Kim, a sweet, pretty good girl has a vision on the road and sees a nasty, bloody pile up. She stalls the road, saving a group from there gory fate while being the sole survivor of her friends. As before, the survivors drop off in strange ways and Kim discovers the similar fates of Flight 180, searching for Clear, the now sole survivor and the only person that can help her. Can these survivors learn from the last groups mistakes and beat death together?

I have to say this was a fun watch. The effects are better, the deaths more convoluted, and there are more of them. I didn’t mind the characters so much this time around and overall I felt was better acted. I felt this movie didn’t try to take itself as seriously which helped. I don’t regard it as a horror in any sense, except for yet a always awesome cameo by Tony Todd. In the end, its a pretty fun movie with some cool kills but it’s kinda disposable. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Deadly Detention (2017)

Deadly Detention is a horror movie about 5 kids, a jock, a nerd, an outcast, you know just imagine horror movie breakfast club. Seriously, one of them will talk, one will yell about the principle catching them and giving them detention. Then a psycho ghost kills their principle and they must find a way out.

First, I have to mention this. Each kid is basically the worst imaginable portrait you can picture of a millennial but they aren’t even old enough to be millennials. Also, the school is in an old prison where someone died after the prison was closed and the last prisoner was abandoned. Also pretty much all the people in detention were set up and did nothing wrong. Aside from the movie just being campy as hell, which normally I like the movie is just bad. The characters are stereotypes of stereotypes and not even good ones and they essentially took as many cliches as possible and rolled them into one. I got very little if any enjoyment out of this movie and it is best avoided. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

X Men: Dark Phoenix trailer 2

So to begin, I’m confused and must ask a question: wasn’t this movie supposed to be out already? If I’m not mistaken, X Men: Dark Phoenix trailer 1 said it was going to be released on Valentine’s Day of 2019. That can’t be a good sign…

As for the trailer itself, it is an improvement but I can’t help but still be wary of it. Phoenix does look pretty cool and Sophie Turner seems to have stepped up her game a bit as Jean/ Phoenix. I can’t help but feel we’re going to get a body count here as it’s Fox’s final X men movie while I’m pretty sure Mystique is done for in this movie. In the end I’m a little more invested in it but still weary. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Final Destination

final destination

I hate to say it as a horror fan but I’m really damn late to the party here- like a decade and a half too late almost. I remember seeing the 5th movie in theaters and having a lot of fun with it but never really getting the chance to dive into the series until now. So how does this cult horror classic hold up almost 2 decades later?

Alex was a normal kid on his way to a end of the year field trip to France with his classmates. At first, he notices little things here and there that he takes as just pre-flight jitters. Suddenly, Alex has a terrible vision of the plane exploding and crashing killing all on board. Waking from the vision, seeing the scenarios identically, he throws a fit that gets him and handful of others off the plane. It does indeed go up and the passengers all die, except for them. With there lives in ruin, haunted by the tragedy, it doesn’t end there as circumstance takes over and the survivors begin dying one by one as death comes to collect what he was cheated from…

I know many have a soft spot for this series so I have to say I can’t see this as a horror movie. Dark horror comedy perhaps, but taking the plunge and calling it a serious horror movie is a leap not even Superman can jump. I laughed my ass off most of the movie, when I didn’t want the bully character to die or wasn’t guessing where the kill would come from. Tony Todd’s cameo is genuinely creepy and better than the movie deserves. The acting isn’t great but the effects aren’t bad to compensate. There are great ideas in here and a couple decent serious dramatic moments but nothing seems to really take off for me. Still, I had fun as a goofy sort of dorky kind of way. In the end, it comes down to what you are ultimately looking for, if you want a laugh and some interesting kills then Final Destination is a good pick. Want something genuinely scary, go somewhere else. May the gaming gods bring you glory..

Suicide Squad: Hell to Pay

suicide squad h2p

Suicide Squad was one of the movies said to break the DCEU; Savior and I are perfect examples of polarizing opinions on the movie ( ( second opinion) Suicide Squad ). Well, I’m happy to say DC gave us a animated option if you weren’t a fan of the live action…

We see Task Force X, the Suicide Squad, at work again under the command of Amanda Waller. After a successful mission, Waller gets some hard news- she has a terminal illness. She assembles a new crew consisting of Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, Copperhead, Bronze Tiger, and Killer Frost to obtain a mystical card that automatically grants whoever holds it at death free access into Heaven. If tensions weren’t high enough with such a despicable, volatile team but they are being hunted down by a gang of super-powered freaks led by a desperate Reverse Flash while the card is in the immortal, cruel hands of Vandal Savage. Can Task Force X pull themselves together and survive this road trip from hell?

Admittedly, after about 20 minutes in I wish this was the movie we got on screen. Instead of the neon mess we got in live action, Hell to Pay goes for a more Grindhouse style that is much more fitting. It’s way bloodier, a lot more dark humored, and much more grounded which was damn welcome. Savage and Reverse Flash are much better villains to face the squad, which may I add the squad’s load-out is much more fitting. The voice acting and score are really well done and while there are some pacing issues here and there, it’s a cool movie I recommend. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Ma trailer

Like most trailers I showcase, I found his while browsing through YouTube. I have to say, I really like the movie’s premise and it hit’s home on both fronts for me. We’ve all been young and had our parents up our ass and wish we had a place to party. Octavia Spencer is perfect and has a great motherly vibe to her that would make her a great horror villain. I’m surprised to say I think this is definitely  something to look into. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Ken Jeong: You Complete Me, Ho

Ken Jeong, or as most people know him as the guy from The Hangover. In what I believe is his first Netflix special and his return to stand-up he covers all sorts of topics from his decision to leave medicine and get into movies, what it was like being a doctor and even some stories from the road such as meeting Presidents.

The stand up is pretty funny but honestly, it is for a specific type of humor. For example, if you aren’t a fan of the self-deprecating and insult style you probably shouldn’t watch this one. It also is not for kids in any capacity, there is plenty of languages that they really shouldn’t hear. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.