Night Of the Living dead 3D (2006)

download (3)

Night of the Living Dead 3D is listed on Hulu as both a homage and re-imagining of the 1968 film. I actually went into this thinking hey maybe this will be fun. The good part, there is a brief nude scene. That is about the end of what I have to say good about the movie.

The acting is horrible, but in their defense it was supposed to be. Sadly the script was also horrible and that was not intentional. Someone actually thought this movie was a good idea. The story itself also takes a huge dump on the movie it is trying to pay homage to with some of the worst changes they could have gone through with, right down to most of the movie not even taking place in the house and the totally awful explanation that this whole thing started because the local crematoriums owner died and his son hated to burn the bodies. They also happened to be unlicensed so occasionally people would pay them to burn other medical waste. This resulted in the dead coming back to life. I am not even kidding, that is how this all happened. The movie never actually becomes good or even really worth watching. Skip this one, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Hellraiser: Judgement trailer

hellraiser judgement

At Saviorgaming we have love for the Cenobites but sadly over the years, the film industry hasn’t had so much respect for the explorer of pain and pleasure. Hellraiser hasn’t the best luck with sequels, to put it lightly. Thankfully, the trailer for the latest installment looks to be the most promising I’ve seen in decades. Just from the cinematography alone, I can see a huge improvement. Also, some old classics return which made me giddy as hell. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Best wishes, feel free to check out our reviews of Hellraiser Movie review and Hellbound: Hellraiser 2 review as well as my review of The Hellbound Heart but most importantly, may the gaming gods bring you glory, because we have such sights to show you…

Slenderman preview

slenderman

Ok, I’m going to say something that may blow many a mind away, especially if you are a modern horror fan. Ready? I don’t get the fear around the Slenderman. A lot of the fan art is cool and the infamous court case surrounding that murder was indeed terrifying but I never really saw the appeal. That being said, I can’t ignore he has become a pop culture icon and now he’s got a movie. Ugh. After seeing the trailer I groaned. It reminded me of a typical horror trailer with pretty standard horror themes. I’m giving it the benefit of the doubt but see for yourself. May the gaming gods bring you glory and best wishes.

Metal Gear Survive preview

mg survive

What the hell Konami? I’ve always heard amazing things from Metal Gear fans and been fascinated by the strange storylines and cool designs but zombies…really. Without Kojima we get a game without any familiar characters and now there is zombie things. From what I gathered from the gameplay footage I got a heavy vibe of Red Redemption’s Undead Nightmare, where it’s a giant side story but still it’s own thing. There’s crafting like many zombie games and you can either stealth it out Last of Us style or go semi ham Dead Rising style. It looks graphically nice at least but that won’t be enough to save yet another zombie game from the gaming god’s wrath. May the gaming gods bring you glory and best wishes.

The Strangers

the strangers

There are few movies that ever really freaked me out. Strangers is one of those movies that kept me up at night and made me watch the shadows carefully, because you don’t know who maybe staring back at you.

Strangers is a simple story of a troubled couple going to a cabin in the woods. The guy proposed to his girlfriend at a friend’s wedding and she declined him, so well, there romantic getaway is screwed. Suddenly, late at night in the middle of nowhere, there’s a knock at the door. A young woman stands there in shadow and asks “Is Tamera home?”. Confused, they tell her no and close the door. Later, the couple argues and the dude walks out for air and not long after, the same woman returns, knocking. Only this time she doesn’t go away. Then the woman of the couple quickly discovers that she ain’t alone and calls her man back. Rushing home, it doesn’t take long before the three Strangers make themselves known and trap them there, playing with them, well, because they were home…

The movie is simple but effective as hell. The music and atmosphere adds a lot of tension to the loneliness but the Strangers themselves are eerie enough. They wear such simple masks but what freaks me out is that this movie isn’t about the couple being hunted, but being toyed with. The Strangers don’t attack until the very end, but they cut every chance they have to get away, knowing every route, always there. I highly recommend it with the lights off in a house alone. May the gaming gods bring you glory…and is Tamera home?

 

Strangers 2, trailer 1

strangers 2

One of my favorite horror films of all time, and one of the most underrated of last decade was The Strangers. Emphasis on the last decade part. Strangers came out in 2008, and a decade later we get a sequel, or rather a prequel? What the hell is with this decade in horror where sequels are prequels but still named 2? Anyway, there is a family, a mobile home, and those creepy, simple bastards in masks that just freak the hell out of me. Immediately I have to say this is a much brighter, colorful movie than the first.

So far, I’m conflicted by the trailer as well as by the movie itself. I think Strangers should have been left alone personally but as far as sequels goes, this doesn’t look bad. There is enough to feel like the first but there is a different flavor too. My biggest fear is that the sequel will try pushing it into slasher territory instead of keeping psychological horror. We don’t have long to wait, so I am curious. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Ghost House (2017)

ghost house

Ghost House is basically the the stereotypical Asian ghost story. You know most American ones involve some sort of Indian cemetery or burial mound and a pissed spirit. Well prepare for that from our Asian brethren.

On vacation before being married a couple meets a nice European couple and decide to go site seeing. This of course leads to seeing some land marks, a strip club and an old abandoned shrine with a bunch of mini houses, sort of like doll houses. When one woman attempts to retrieve a piece of cloth at the behest of their new European friends whom now decides to run away and abandon them to be possessed by an evil spirit.

Turns out this evil spirit gets really pissed off when a young attractive woman messes with these houses. It sounds good in theory but sadly the movie is actually kind of boring. It is slow, comes off pretty stereotypical to a degree that actually spoils the movie at times and the acting isn’t all that great either. I wouldn’t suggest watching this one except for morbid curiosity. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World (2012)

friend

This may be the longest title I have ever reviewed. Like the actual title not the movie length. The movie is a weird sort of romantic comedy. Steve Carrell plays a guy trying to find the one that got away, his high school sweetheart. keira knightley plays a woman just trying to get home to her family.  And why are they doing this? Well in about three weeks the world is ending because a huge rock from space is going to wipe out all life on Earth.

For once in a rare twist a movie about armageddon handles it in a realistic but fun way. For example early on there is a family and friends party, but weirdly this normally classy and uptight group is now swingers doing heroin teaching small children to chug booze. I mean I get it, the world is ending, have a good time. Another man they run into doesn’t want to go to hell so he hires a hit man, to kill him.

All in all the movie is fun if not a bit odd, but worth a watch. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The New Daughter (2009)

the new daughter

The New Daughter proves you can take a premise that has been done to death, add another idea that has also been done to death combine it with more stuff that is highly cliche and still make a pretty good movie. Stop me if you heard this one before. A writer movies his kids to the country after mom leaves/dies ( in this case leaves) only for his kid ( in this case his daughter) to be possessed by an evil spirit because of an ancient Indian burial mound.

Yes that is the story of this movie. That being said the slow progressive change with the daughter is well done and her ever changing relationship with her dad and brother, both of which change differently is nice. The duel twist ending is also a pretty nice change of pace. The acting is great which isn’t a surprise from Kevin Costner. The problem with the movie however and the reason a lot of people dislike it however is understandable. There is nothing in this movie you have never seen before. From beginning to end it is a series of events that other movies have done, The New Daughter simply does them all well. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Goon (2011)

goon

Goon is the story of a bouncer that has a gay brother and a friend with a big mouth at a local hockey game. When a guy from the opposing team gets tossed in the box for fighting in typical fan fashion his friend lets fly with some nasty obscenities and hand gestures only for the player to jump out of the box to attack and calling him a fag. Our man Doug doesn’t like this and demands he takes the word back, and when this demand is denied he beats the ever loving crap out of him. He also discovers a new job as a hockey player.

Good you see is the movie of Doug “The Thug” Glatt, bouncer turned hockey player. His job? Take out those that would get a little rough with his fellow players. and he is damn good at it. He also happens to be one of the nicest guys on Earth, to the point that he at a few points apologizes to a few guys or even a hey nice fight. It was actually nice to see Seann William Scott play someone besides Stiffler and he did it very well. The movie isn’t perfect and honestly being a hockey fan really helps. In fact if you aren’t a hockey fan you should probably skip it since much of the fun comes from being a hockey fan. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.