I always love waking up to a good movie trailer, especially a awesome superhero movie. We got the best look at Endgame so far here; I went nerd crazy seeing a armed up Rocket perched on War Machine, both in there classic gear. I love Cap’s narration about the struggles of moving on after tragedy. Having Thor and Captain Marvel staring each other was pretty awesome. I’m really pumped for Endgame as I’m sure almost all nerds are and we here at Saviorgaming are, may the gaming gods and Avengers bring you glory.
Category: Movie Review
Stephen King’s Silver Bullet (1985)
Based on the Stephen King book Cycle of the Werewolf and I am actually going to do something I have never done before. I am going to agree with and even link a review from over 30 years ago by Roger Ebert. Now for those that don’t want to read his review, he starts out by saying this is either the worst movie made from a Stephen King story or the funniest. Now please note he wrote that in 1985 when the movie first came out and a lot has changed since then but the spirit of his review is true. This movie is either intentionally funny or it is horribly made and truthfully I think they made it funny on purpose.
The movie itself is typical King fanfare. A small American town faces some sort of danger and is terrorized by it until a small group comes along and discovers the truth, this time it is a werewolf. You can honestly probably guess who the werewolf is 15 minutes into the movie, who the hero will be and all the other stuff. It is a very 1980’s movie after all, and I don’t mean that as a complaint. Truthfully I think if you like his other books or movies you will enjoy this, same goes for horror movies in general. It is far from a great movie, but it is, in fact, an enjoyable one. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Our Idiot Brother (2011)
This movie was odd. See Ned is an idiot. Seriously he sells weed to a uniformed cop. You may say hey Savior, be cool to the guy with a mental handicap but no, he doesn’t have one. The guy is just an idiot and believes the best in everyone. So when the cop just says hey it has been a rough week he believes him and ends up in jail.
This will send him to jail for a few months and eventually parole and living with his mom, then he will bounce around with his sisters while he systematically messes up their lives while he tries to collect money doing odd jobs so he can rent out an old goat shed on a farm where his ex-girlfriend lives, basically so he can get his dog, Willie Nelson, back.
The movie filled an odd niche for me, it was an ice family drama but at the same time had some funny moments. I am also a pretty big fan of Paul Rudd and Elizabeth Banks so that helps. I wouldn’t by any means call this a great movie. There was quite a bit of downtime for example. It wasn’t wasted time tho, the movie tells a good story and I never felt like I was waiting for things to happen even when it was slow. For fans of that style of movie, this one is a good one, even a joy to watch. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Green Room

Starting this review, R.I.P Anton Yelchin, you were taken too soon. A huge reason I watched this movie was for Yelchin and Patrick Stewart, and frankly I had never seen Stewart play a bad guy before. This was a pretty WTF place for me to start…
We begin with a starving punk band, living gig to gig out of there van and mostly siphoning gas to get from place to place. After they get screwed on a gig they traveled almost 100 miles out of there way for, they are made an offer to play at a real seedy club in the middle of nowhere. The dude tells them the gig is solid but the people are pretty extreme- it turns out they are Neo- Nazis. They are rushed on stage and rushed out the door, but Pat, the quiet man of the group doubles back to there dressing room for a phone and sees the band they opened for have killed someone. Things descend into utter madness as they are held hostage by the club’s mannered but sinister owner and his group of followers…
I was fairly surprised by this movie. For the squeamish, I warn you right now to steer clear of this movie because there’s a few scenes that will push you. I really like the story and how the loud, thrashing punk music is fused with the score and story. The acting is really good all around and the movie is filmed beautifully. It’s a slow movie that builds but a couple times I feel it goes slower than it had to, mostly in the second act. Green Room is a good thriller with some pretty kick-ass scenes and a cool soundtrack and I think it deserves a watch, especially if you want a good, tense, slow build. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Eight Legged Freaks

When all is said and done, what makes a movie good is what we take away from it. I’m a man of a huge variety when it comes to cinema. Sometimes I want a deep psychological piece or a gripping action flick. Then there’s times I want a B movie about giant spiders…
Prosperity Arizona is a dying mining town. The only prosperous mine was shut down and now the town is struggling and they blame Chris for it, who inherited the mine and disappeared. He came back as it just so happens a barrel of toxic waste landed in a pond where it contaminated a bunch of crickets that were fed to a bunch of spiders being kept in a spider farm. They grow to enormous size and chaos ensues as they try to invade the town. Can the town survive the creepy, crawly horde?
Eight Legged Freaks is a fun and simple B movie that knows what it’s trying to be and does it well. The characters are surprisingly likable and the spider effects hold up pretty damn well after 15+ years. The movie has some decent laughs but isn’t outright hilarious. Despite the pg-13 rating, there are some decent kills and a kid or spider-phobe will get creeped out. In the end, it’s a fun time worth watching at least once. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Captain Marvel

Admittedly there’s been a lot of controversy Captain Marvel’s film debut, much like there was over last year’s release of Black Panther . I’ve heard plenty of reviews going into this, but as always I try going into everything with an open mind, so with that being said, how was the first female lead Marvel film?
Carol Danvers was a young woman who seemingly died in a test plane accident; this was not fully the case. Her memories nearly wiped clean and with powers she can’t fully understand, she was rescued by the Kree and drafted into Star Force, trained as a soldier to protect the greater good in a intergalactic war between the Kree and the devious, shape shifting Skrull. During a conflict between the two, she crashes on Earth during the 90’s where she meets a young Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D who gets drafted into her hunt for the Skrull as her memories unfold and her allegiances are tempted as she discovers herself and her true power…
First, I have to say I disagree with almost every review of this I’ve seen. It’s a fun movie with some issues. I liked Brie Larson as Marvel and I thought she had had a overall good character arc through the movie. Sam Jackson steals the show as a young Fury, followed closely by Goose the Cat. The acting is overall solid. The soundtrack and score are pretty good. The effects are great but the opening battle isn’t filmed very good, too dark, and it was hard as hell to track. I wasn’t a fan of the first act of the movie, but it picks up once you get to Earth. After seeing it, a problem I feel is I think it’s misplaced in the MCU; I feel if it was placed in Phase 2 it would’ve fit better- I feel her character would have benefited from more time and development with the story at play. Now, what irked me, Sniper, and I’m sure will piss off most hard core Marvel fans I can’t spoil but if you are a stickler for Marvel lore it will piss you off. Hopefully to counter balance, the Stan Lee tribute in the beginning did almost make us cry a little. In the end, Captain Marvel was a fun movie, certainly not legendary but certainly not worth many of the poor reviews I’ve seen. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Ant-Man and the Wasp

Ant-Man was a huge surprise hit, rounding out Phase 2 of the MCU. With a imaginative array of settings and action, the first Ant-man had a cool flavor to it that lead into much of the psychedelic feel of Phase 3. After Ant-Man and the Wasp, trailer 2 it was looking lightning might have stricken twice, but did it?
Taking place right after Captain America: Civil War (Cap side) , Scott Lange has been under house arrest, just about on the cusp of freedom. Hank Pym and Hope Van Dyne are M.I.A and wanted by the feds; there feelings towards Scott ain’t very warm. They reconnect because Scott has a strange vision of Hank’s wife, Janet, who had gone missing in the Quantum-verse. They need Scott’s help to finish a prototype to reach her but along the way they are hunted by black market dealers and a mysterious young woman named Ghost who laid victim to one of Pym’s earlier experiments with Quantum tech. Can they save Janet and Scott’s freedom?
I’m going to be honest and pretty blunt here: this is my pick for weakest movie in Phase 3. The movie ain’t terrible by any means but lacks much of the excitement and imagination the first movie had. Without that, a lot of the jokes and the heaviness of them makes a lot of the comedy feel stale. Wasp stole the show for me; I always loved her in the comics and she was pretty awesome here. The acting is solid all around. Ghost is a Ok villain but there’s been better in Phase 3 but not the worst. In the end, it ain’t a bad movie and worth a Netflix watch but I wouldn’t bust my ass to own it and the most important scenes can be seen on Youtube. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Brightburn trailer 1
James Gunn looks to be combining his past and present with Brightburn and so far I dig it. The concept of Superman as being a villain is by no means original, but Superman as a horror/ slasher villain, that’s pretty awesome. It looks pretty good and I can’t wait to see it. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (2005)
Another Return of the Living Dead movie and another movie that technically isn’t good. It also actually comes before Return of The Living Dead: Rave To The Grave, it has many of the same characters and even ends with the barrels from Rave to The Grave coming into play. It also is one of those movies that is fun but isn’t good which is kind of a staple of the series. This one is no exception, at all. It is so stereotypical it is hardly worth mentioning the story, which honestly I will give you the smallest glimpse and just tell you to fill in the gas with stereotypes. Basically, a high school student lost his parents about a year ago and now lives with his uncle that works for the company that stopped the last zombie outbreak. This student and his friends discover this and attempt to rescue a friend. You fill in the gaps.
The movie is fun tho. The corny acting isn’t too corny, but it is just corny enough to be entertaining. There are a few solid jokes and oddly, they managed to be entertaining without stooping to needless nudity. Granted as a guy, I would have enjoyed that but from a reviewer standpoint, it was great to see a movie not resort to such things and try to be good on its own merit. I am a bit sad it mostly failed, but hey kudos for trying.
One of my biggest issues is how totally inconsistent the movie was. To start, shoot the zombies in the head. All good right? Sadly it isn’t long until they down about 20 zombies with one or two shots to the chest with a handgun. If that was not bad enough, they get into actual fist fights with the zombies and kill them that way. This isn’t getting into the fact that some of the zombies can talk and others can’t and two even look like the Borg from Star Trek.

Seriously, I can’t be the only one that sees it right? All that being said, I had fun watching it. I didn’t see it and instantly regret watching it and I think a big part of that was the movie didn’t take itself seriously, it knows what it is and didn’t try to be more. So give it a shot, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Return of the Living Dead 3 (1993)
Every so often I watch a movie that makes me think for the love of god give me the last 90 minutes of my life back. Other times I see one so good I think why the hell did that have to end. This is absolutely one of those times. It won’t take you long to figure out which this is.
The story is pretty straight forward. Curt finds out his dad and the government is doing experiments that bring the dead back to life. After a fight with his dad, Colonel Reynolds, so Curt and his girlfriend Julie ride away on his bike. Because she is an idiot she waves around a bunch they swerve into the wrong lane almost get hit by a truck and slam into a pole killing Julie. Sort of. See Curt in his infinite wisdom sneaks into a government lab to bring his girlfriend back. Yea, this goes well right?
So during his quest for necrophilia, they release more zombies and he runs away with Julie. From here it is a pretty boring run from the government for Curt and Julie turns more and more Zombie as she bites a few people and unknowingly spreads the zombie virus. The movie isn’t good and unlike most movies in the Return of the Living Dead series, this one isn’t all that funny. I will actually go so far as to say this is my least favorite in the entire series and tomorrow I am going to actually make fun of another movie in the series and I have already covered Return of The Living Dead: Rave To The Grave which I openly sad wasn’t a good movie, but at least it was fun. This one was not. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.