Texas Chainsaw massacre 2

tcm 2

If you’ve been following my posts for a while you’ll see how I have a taste for those special horror movies that make you laugh and say WTF with your friends. Most people didn’t expect such a treat to come as a follow up to the late Tobe Hooper’s gritty horror classic Texas Chainsaw Massacre . Well, after a 12 year gap, a shitload of legal battles and productions problems we got a sequel, but why were people so pissed?

So we begin with a pair of A-holes driving through the countryside, being jerks and public nuisances, even harassing the local rock station over the phone. Until they went to far and screwed with the wrong truck. While one of there calls harassing Stretch, the local DJ, the truck catches up with them and the notorious Leatherface attacks the truck shredding the truck and giving the punks a taste of his saw. Stretch has the call recorded and brings it to a mad ex sheriff named Lefty who’s obsessed with the “Chainsaw killers” would killed some of family in the first movie. After playing the recording to draw them out for Lefty, the Sawyers emerge and madness is unleashed on Stretch…

Ok, if you want a horror movie, something to chill you to the bone I recommend trying the first. This won’t scare you but if you have a warped sense of humor there’s a lot of laughs. There’s a chainsaw fight, Leatherface trying to waltz with a victim, a chili cook off, and Chop Top. Bill Mosely is amazingly quirky and over the top as Chop Top who steals the show more then Leatherface, although Dennis Hopper as Lefty is great too. There’s a fair amount of blood and creepy stuff throughout but unlike the first, this is definitely a movie and a solid dark comedy. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our Favorites Day7: Scream

Scream is the 1996 Wes Craven movie that spawned a sort of resurgence in horror movies for a bit. It wasn’t the best horror movie of the 90’s, but it was possibly the most popular. This is part of why it makes the list. The movie itself while good and maybe even great, it is what it represents that is important. Horror movies weren’t dead or anything like that but people were losing interest. Along came scream, renewing the main stream interest. I remember being in school and people who never even discussed horror movies talking about it. This was really the first time I remember people being that excited over a single horror movie, and that is why this made the list. Best wishes, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Aquaman trailer 2

We got a treat yesterday in the form of a huge Aquaman trailer that gives us a huge look at movie in general. First I have to say visually it looks improved from Aquaman trailer 1 and the Atlantis stuff looks absolutely stunning. Jason Mamoa is charismatic as always and I can’t lie, he pulls off the classic outfit at the end of the trailer; Amber Heard seems natural as Mera and I was glad to see her use her power. I was glad to see Manta in action but I am really liking Patrick Wilson as Ocean Master. I’m really digging how it’s shaping up. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Movies We Love Day 6:Zombieland

Zombieland Now you guys had to have known this movie would show up today after this mornings post about Zombieland 2. This one is great for so many reason to me. It has a great story, great cast and is simply funny as hell. Whether its Woody yelling “Thank god for rednecks” while shooting a fully automatic weapon or Bill Murray simply being Bill Murray. I don’t really have any fond childhood or heartwarming memories, I honestly just really enjoy it for what it is. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Hills Have Eyes 2

hills 2

So, anyone remember the hype they had being a kid getting into a R rated movie without your parents? This was my first time, after the awesome The The Hills Have Eyes(06)  and boy was I excited. Poor stupid younger me.

For the sequel, we delve into the the hills themselves where a clan of mutants lives. There numbers are dwindling as we see in a gruesome opening scene. A team of soldiers are dispatched into the hills after a base goes dark and after finding what’s left of there taken officer, they discover they aren’t alone and the battle of survival begins.

Ok, if it happens to seem like I’m not putting much effort into this review, it’s because not much effort was put into this movie. The plot is bland with no real memorable characters or mutants like the previous movie. The kills are weak but instead of well done gore and natural intensity, it takes the low road and tries to disturb you with some rape scenes and a woman giving birth to a stillborn mutated bay in the opening scene. I like the setting above ground where again you do feel a sense of emptiness but once the movie goes into the mines it becomes dark and drab. I will say though, there a hilarious moment with “Shitman the Barbarian” that still makes me laugh my ass off. In the end, Hills 2 is a blah cash grab sequel you can skip. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our Favorites Day 5: Night of The Living Dead

Night of the Living Dead by George A Romero  is a classic zombie movie. And as I learned last year due to some forgotten paper work when it was made it has always been considered public domain, meaning you can find the entire movie on YouTube. I can also post it right here for you to watch. Seriously if you haven’t seen it, watch it below.

When I was a kid me and my dear old father used to watch monster movies every year when he was on vacation from work. He was an EMT and worked a lot, so when he went on vacation we would collect a huge pile of movies, usually Godzilla and vampires and stuff. That being said he also introduced me to this movie. It was the first black and white movie I ever watched and also to my knowledge the first zombie movie. My dad died last year of cancer and 2 of my 3 kids don’t really enjoy these types of movies the way me and my old man did, but me and my middle daughter still watched this together. Will also be sure to watch it with my youngest when she is older as well. Which is why this movie is on my list. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Daredevil season 3 trailer

In less than 3 minutes I suddenly wanted my Netflix back after seeing this trailer. I’m curious why he’s wearing his original costume again instead of the red. I personally think the impostor maybe Bullseye, which would be a great way to introduce him. I love that Kingpin is returning as the main villain and knows who Daredevil is. I can’t wait for season 3 to drop, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Dark Knight Rises

dark knight rises

You know how people say there are no perfect trilogies? Most of us have our subjective favorites, but 9 out of 10 times the landing at the end may not be perfect. After how insanely epic Batman Begins and the The Dark Knight were, how did the final installment land?

8 years have passed since the death of Harvey Dent and Batman disappeared. Everything Dent did has been upheld under the Dent Act, locking up hundreds of criminals. Crime seems low, Gordon is nearly obsolete and Bruce Wayne is a battered recluse living in the renovated Wayne manor. Physically and emotionally he’s been torn down and Wayne Enterprises is bleeding money. A mysterious philanthropist named Miranda Tate and notorious Rowland Dagget are clawing for the company from 2 sides. After a run in with a cat burglar, Selena Kyle, Wayne discovers bad times are going to come again. A masked mercenary has come to Gotham with a small army of highly trained soldiers at his heels, working to break the city from the inside out. Enter Bane, the man who broke the bat; can the citizens of Gotham survive without there protector?

This is going to sound weird but despite how flawed it is, I do love this movie and I think, logical leaps aside, it’s a great end to the trilogy. I have to say Tom Hardy as Bane steals the show with his great dialogue, intimidating physical presence, and strange accent; I do wish Nolan picked a better explanation for Bane’s mask. I don’t get why Venom couldn’t be a mix of steroids or something, it didn’t have to have outrageous effects. I personally really like Anne Hathaway as Catwoman although she doesn’t have the cat puns or  the trademark whip. The supporting cast is great and I liked the inclusion of the “John Blake” character. I felt Bale’s performance in this was fine but I hated how much he growled as Batman and well, here we come to the logic leaps. Batman is paranoid and an extremely cautious character by definition so why the hell would he reveal all his secrets to a chick he slept with a couple days prior , let alone be shocked when she betrays his ass? Questions like this, how the hell he could get across the world and back to a quarantined Gotham in less than a day kind of break immersion. Another little issue I have is the final act drags a bit after the climax with Batman and Bane. It may sound like I’m nitpicking this movie but there’s great story arcs and a very powerful message in this final chapter that completes the trilogy quite nicely. In the end, it’s not perfect but it’s a damn good way to end the legend of the Batman. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our Favorites Day 4: Freddy’s Dead

Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare (1991) Day 4 of out favorite movies is actually one me and @torstenvblog greatly disagree on. See i have fond memories of this horror/comedy and greatly enjoy this movie. I understand why so many people don’t, but this was the first movie I saw that showed that a movie could be both horror and comedy successfully. Tho I am greatly disappointed Tom Arnold and Rosanne didn’t get murdered.

The movie itself also had everything I like. Gross deaths? Yup, gotta love the nail on the chalkboard scene. Comedy? Yea I laughed at “The map says we’re fucked” after the kept driving in circles.  The movie’s title was a pretty big lie tho. The final nightmare? Come on there were movies after. Regardless this movie made my half of the list, tho @torstenvblog did mock me a bit as always. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

For those that love the Nightmare on Elm Street movies, here is a collection of the original movies on Amazon. Nightmare on Elm Street Collection