Abby Grace (2016)

Abby Grace. The name just kind of rolls off the tongue. Seriously just say it out loud a couple times. Did you try it? Yea it really doesn’t, just wanted to see if you would try it.

Anyway now that I had my fun the movie itself is about a psychiatrist that goes back home after her mom dies to help out her very OCD brother that has a phobia of the outside world. Don’t feel bad about the mom dying by the way, she was insane and is responsible for the state of the brother.

After the brother complains for a few days about putting fresh flowers on moms grave and his sister grudgingly doing it her dog brings home a little music box he digs up and leaves it on bros bed. This is where shit turns bad. He also has a very strange obsession with coconut water.

As always I try to give you guys some details while avoiding as many details as possible. Many times I don’t even include names, unfortunately this story very much requires a couple small ones. If you don’t want them please stop reading here. I will place a random picture at the beginning and end of the spoilers section. Skip to after the 2nd picture if you just want to know if I feel the movie is worth watching.

Back in 1919 the house used to be a boarding school until the headmistress killed herself and in the 1940’s a little girl killed her entire family. The house however is not in itself haunted, but an object that is in or near the house itself is that every so often allows a poltergeist to go on a killing spree.

And we are done with spoilers. Anyway while the story is a pretty standard ghost story it is fairly fun and well done with some nice twist and turns. If you are a fan of those types of movies its a pretty good movie to see. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Hunter Call of the Wild

This is not my usual game. I have played a few hunting games in the past but I am not usually a fan. Been hunting a few times and I have enjoyed it. The games I’ve played tho just failed in every way to capture that thrill of hunting. The searching, the excitement of seeing your soon to be dinner. The heart break of a miss and the pure joy of a kill. Until now.

Just to get this out of the way, if you don’t have the patience to simply wander around for 30 minutes or an hour or even longer just following a trail, trying to line up the perfect shot then possibly following it some more if your shot fails to hit its mark and drop your animal quickly, this game probably is not for you.

The game is beautiful. Maybe not the best graphically but the views in the two insanely large areas are nice with plenty to see. Ponds, ridges cabins and more to explore. You can easily spend hours just wandering around seeing what you can find. In fact my first 3 hours playing I shot 4 animals and only because I randomly ran into 3 of them. And yes much like the real world if you wander around making a ton of noise chances are you won’t be seeing much of anything.

Wondering around however is not a waste of time. Tracking animals or finding new sites will actually gain you experience and money to buy better weapons, or an ATV to make travel much easier and trust me. You want the ATV, it is a long walk to across the map on foot. Animals won’t stick around so you will want to park it when you want to hunt. I saw someone in the PC version crash the ATV and have to walk and even crash it into a bear, but I don’t know if the PS4 version allows for it.

At the end of the day tho if you like hunting or even just relaxing in a massive open world by all means give this game a shot, but if you like more action this game is not for you. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Diary of the Dead

Another great Romero zombie movie. I actually reviewed these way out of order, the main characters from Survival of the Dead actually show up to rob these college kids in Diary of the dead which is a scene shown in both movies.

Another small issue is for a large part of this movie they are attempting to get to Scranton Pennsylvania. Torsten and Myself are both from Scranton, very few people would come here and it is not as nice as the movie makes it look.

This movie actually depicts the beginning of the zombie apocalypse itself, starting with the first attack and people finding out about it. In fact at first our college amigos and amigas don’t even believe its real.

This movie actually demonstrates why I don’t hang out with film people. One guy is so obsessed with filming he actually almost lets his friends and himself die a few times.

The visuals and sound are pretty standard for a Romero movie. Not spectacular but good enough and the story is a simple tale of a group trying to get home while dealing with learning how to survive, the dangers of both zombies and humanity and of course how it feels to be part of a whole new dangerous world. I suggest you check this one out..in the proper order obviously. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Anger of the Dead (2015)

If you are a complete movie snob that demands an original story with high tier sound, visuals and acting even from Indy films stop reading this review, assume you won’t enjoy this movie and move on to another review and movie. Nothing wrong with feeling that way, this movie simply isn’t for you.

That all being said while it is simply another average zombie flick in every way possible average is called average for a reason. Plenty of zombie movies are worse and it is still a good enough movie.

The movie essentially has 2 plots at once, one involving a pregnant woman and her boyfriend and their attempt to survive in a world gone crazy. Desperately looking for a place that is safe to give birth to a child and raise it safely is their force and they will lose friends along the way.

The other plot is much darker. A man trying to save his sick wife at a sort of sanctuary where all kinds of test are run by a sort of paramilitary group. Beatings and rape are also not uncommon.

There is a very heavy The Walking Dead feel to the movie and the ending leaves much to be desired, tho admittedly most Indy films seem to have twist endings for no other reason than to have them. The movie however is worth a quick watch if you have the time. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

5 Horror Movie Logic Mistakes?

This is just a simple list of 5 things about many horror movies never sat right with me.

1. Where are all the damn guns?

This is largely an American issue really. But I live in a country that legitimately has more guns than people and more ammo than people in the world just laying around. That isn’t even a joke. Many Canadians think we shoot them out of T-Shirt guns at ball games. We don’t, but we could. Yet most horror movies is missing any real gun supplies.

2. Why the hell does everyone split up?

I don’t even feel bad when these people die. Every horror movie some idiot decides hey, we are being hunted by some deadly monster/creature/beast or whatever. Lets split up. Because making things far more even for whatever is trying to kill you makes the most sense.

3. Why do so many people shoot deranged killers one time?

So here is the scenario. Some deranged psycho killer has murdered half your friends, and is coming for you. Why do so many killers shoot this guy/girl/thing 1 time then stop? If you ever find yourself in the situation don’t stop until the ammo runs dry people.

4. Looking for the creature?

This move always seemed like high grade stupidity. Whelp some random creature is attempting to kill everything. Our options are leave town, hide or go searching the wilderness or hospital or whatever for this thing. And they always pick the lets go searching option.

5. Sex.

Yea I’m not posting a sex scene sorry guys. But why do most horror movies seem to have one of two sex scenes. Either the early movie one that is fine because shit hasn’t hit the fan yet or the 2nd one. The 2nd one is always random and weird. Hey half our friends are dead, killer is running around or some demon is out there. Lets sneak off for a quick one and never be seen again.

So that is my list. Feel free to add or disagree and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Best Halloween Movies Ranked

As a kid, this time of year has always been my favorite for one specific reason — the Halloween movies. These films were special, only to be broken out once a year, and it wasn’t fall without them. Here’s my list of the top 10 best Halloween movies: 10. Scream Scream is the quintessential scary […]

via The Best Halloween Movies Ranked — The Game of Nerds

Zombi (PS4)

First a story with this game, I bought it awhile back because it looked interesting. Like 2 weeks later it became the free game for the month. This pissed me off even more than I already was with the game.

The game has sub par visuals, the controls are a bit stiff but passable. Neither of these issues are that big of a deal but are worth mentioning tho for most people they won’t even be an issue.

The concept itself is pretty interesting. Trapped in London during the zombie apocalypse (I’m really getting sick of typing that this month) you will explore various historical locations and other places to find supplies and weapons to move the story along and escape.

Another really cool part is what can only be described as semi permanent death. If your character dies that character is simply gone. You however won’t start the game over. Any items you have stored will still be stored and any progress you made will still be there. You simply get a new character. Your old stuff is actually still with your old character whom is now a zombie at your old location that you can kill and get your stuff back. If running from zombies wasn’t bad enough and nerve wracking having to basically beat yourself to death is pretty sadistic to say the least.

In the end I personally did not enjoy this game and would not recommend it. Others I know thought it was ok, but at the very least you should find it on sale for as cheap as possible. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Thank You For Your Service (2017)

Thanks for defending our country. Now beat it! Sergeant Adam Schumann (Miles Teller), Specialist Tausolo Aieti (Beulah Kole), and Will Waller (Joe Cole), are all soldiers finally returning home after a year-long stint in the war. It was a rough time for all of them, but now they’re just happy to be home and, hopefully, re-adjust […]

via Thank You for Your Service (2017) — Dan the Man’s Movie Reviews

Bubba the Redneck Werewolf

First thing first, this movie is in no way shape or form to be taken seriously. If you couldn’t tell by the name the opening song will quickly prove that. This is a only a horror movie in the sense that there is a werewolf and the Devil. It is truly a comedy first.

Bubba is just a guy that lives at way out past the corner of the middle of nowhere and you got a purdy mouth. He works at a dog kennel, misses his girlfriend and is not man enough to keep her. He doesn’t even own proper scissors to maintain his cut off flannel shirt. Least that is what his ex woman’s new man tells him right before knocking him out.

Bubba knocks back a few drinks, and makes a deal with the devil. To be the strongest toughest guy in the city with a full head of hair. He is more than happy to wake up as a werewolf.

After some weird antics that nobody even finds odd like ripping out a robbers eyes or knocking another robbers head off with the first robbers arm. Tho the bar keep gets a bit pissed about the mess when he eats the robbers…Fine with the eating part. Pissed about the mess.

Mean while since hell is full the Devil is making deals all over town and collecting souls in Florida, which is apparently normal in Florida. Even in real life weird stuff happens in Florida.

Some of the highlights of weirdness is a random zombie apocalypse that isn’t quite what it seems that results in probably around 20 or so deaths, poor Todd Hu getting his head punched in due to an old Abbot and Costello skit and what can only be described as bestiality. Regardless if you like the horror comedy genre it is worth a watch. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

7 Days to Die Revisted

I reviewed this game a few months ago when Savior Gaming first started, since than I have logged a few more hours in, the game has had a few updates and I really felt it was worth coming back to this one. Not because I said the game was bad, the game was always pretty decent despite a few graphical and frame rate issues.

The graphical issues are largely unchanged. Even on a PS4 pro and a 4K television the game doesn’t look that great compared to most games. While some work has been done you will never mistake this for a triple A title.

The frame rate issues have mostly been taken care of, and for couch co-op the game no longer randomly freezes when 2 people attempt to enter menus and aside from some lag when player 2 enters the game you won’t have to many issues if any.

The online experience is fun and I never seem to have an issue finding a game to join in with or run into people just being a pain in the ass to new players so it still seems to be pretty active.

The game experience itself is still mostly unchanged. Enter enter the games already rendered world or a randomly generated one, do the short tutorial. Try to survive while building a base that will withstand the zombie horde that will attack every 7 days and gets a bit harder each time. The game is not for everyone but for those into that sort of thing it provides hundreds of hours of fun. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.