Evil Dead

evil dead

Before the one-liners, before the madness of Asliegh Williams killing Deadites in the middle ages, before the remake that took itself way too seriously and Ash vs Evil Dead (series) there was the gory, claymated wonder that was the classic Evil Dead. Like many wacky misadventures, Evil Dead is about a group of friends that go to a nice sweet little cabin in the woods. Things are fine until the basement door pops open and in the basement they find an old tape recorder and a peculiar book made of flesh and written in human blood- like we all do. On the recorder is a translation from a past victim of the book, who loudly recites the translated incantations, unleashing the Evil Dead on them. Malevolent spirits awaken, attacking and possessing the friends, turning them into disgusting demons. By the end, on the cusp of his sanity is the whimpy, meek, Ash but can he rise to the challenge?

I know I’m playing against the the gross opinion but I actually like the original Evil Dead best. I like the gritty filming and there is a good blend of WTF scenes that are funny actual horror. Linda, Ash’s girlfriend, creeped the hell out of me with her clownish make up and wide grin. The infamous tree rape scene holds up pretty well in my opinion and is still alarming. In the end, Evil Dead is a simple movie with a simple premise that is a damn awesome B movie I recommend checking out for the simple fact it is a fun horror movie of gore, slapstick, and some chills. May the gaming gods bring you glory, now it’s time to go to sleep:)

The Exorcist (movie)

the exorcist movie

In 1973 we got a movie that changed horror forever, traumatizing thousands because of its dark as hell themes and realistic effects that hold up remarkably well today, almost 50 years later. Directer William Friedkin (Bug ) took the terrifying book by William Peter Blatty and pulled no punches.

The Exorcist follows the demonic possession of Reagan MacNeil, a 12 year old little girl and the two priests that come together to take on the daunting task. The intro to the movie we meet Father Merrin at an archaeological excavation in the Middle East, culminating in a stare down with a freaky looking statue we get a foreboding dread he has encountered before. Across the world, Reagan is with her mother, a successful actress,  as small, strange things begin to happen. Her mother doesn’t notice until a disturbing sight happens at a big party she throws, leading to sights nothing within reason can explain. Reagan turns violent, having violent seizures and physically striking at the doctors trying to help her. Enter Father Damien Karras, a priest dealing with the loss of faith after his mother’s health plummets and dies;  Chris, Reagan’s mother, reaches out to Karras who inspects Reagan and comes to the dark conclusion about her possession. Can Merrin and Karras save her soul and expel the demon?

The possession sub genre hasn’t been my favorite, for every The Exorcism of Emily Rose  there’s a The Devil Inside but the Exorcist is honestly the greatest and undeniable progenitor of the sub genre. The effects are damn good, even today when CGI has taken over film land. The acting is amazing and the characters are strong. I will say the movie is slow, with decent gaps between scares where we see the characters develop, but some modern audiences may frown upon that. Horror fans and film buffs alike, this is a must watch. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Real Genius (1985)

download (6)

Real Genius is one of those 80’s movies that for some reason most people I know haven’t seen, and that greatly upsets me. The story is simple. Mitch is recruited to a school for super smart people, he works with Chris the smartest person in the school turned slacker. They are tasked with a school project to build a laser. They aren’t the only two doing this but hey they are the main two.

As the story goes on we see all sorts of shenanigans, from the turning an entire section of the school into ice for a winter carnival.

images (2).jpg

To throwing a massive party with the local beauty school.

download (7)

The movie is first and foremost, a comedy. This starts out pretty early with the scene where Mitch meets Chris, and he asks about him being prepared for gravity reversing itself and even trying to convince him the antenna on an odd remote control is in fact a penis stretcher, and offers to let him try it.

The movie does eventually take a more serious turn however, as early on you the viewer will discover the laser is actually being developed by the school for the government as a weapon to be used from space to assassinate targets. Mitch and friends eventually find this out as well, but not until the laser is finished and in the hands of the government.

They will of course go on a quest to put an end to the weapon and take revenge on the dean of the school for lying to them in the fist place, which will involve filling a house with popcorn. He hates popcorn. Regardless the movie is currently on Netflix, go check this out. The movie is amazing and has a great soundtrack. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

“Glass” poster

glass poster This is going to be a little unusual because there is no trailer, but a poster tells alot. I’ve never been a huge M. Night Shyamalan fan but I loved Split and wanted to check out Unbreakable after the end credits scene, which I thought was merely a set up for a sequel. But a crossover? That I wasn’t expecting. I think it’s a cool idea and don’t get me wrong, I’m seriously hyped for this movie but let’s not ignore the elephant in the room: Shyamalan doesn’t have the greatest track record. The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs- all well loved and well received movies. But we also have After Earth, The Happening, and The Last AirBender which damaged his career. I’m cautiously optimistic in that regard because while I’m a huge fan of his work, I respect that he tries doing something different, especially in a world of reboots and sequels. I have my fingers crossed and I can’t wait for the trailer. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Bad News Bears (2005)

download (2)

As a kid I loved the Bad News Bears, the 1976 version. I wasn’t old enough to see the original release, I wasn’t born for almost a decade after, but I still loved the movie when I saw it. I grew up playing baseball, and while I was never on any teams like that I have seen some bad teams, most of which got better over time and I always would have liked to have seen a story like this. I always liked a good underdog story. I was always wondering how this stacked up to the original but I was always kind of out off since I was never really a fan of it being remade. That being said I finally got the chance to watch it especially since I do enjoy Billy Bob Thornton.

The opening scene did fill me with some hope, as Billy Bob comes out of a basement drinking some beer rats crawling out behind him, and he tells the lady there are indeed a shit ton of rats down there. He then simply leaves, door wide open and rats escaping, and tells her he has a thing to do and to just call for a follow-up. We then end up at the field where we meet the team.

The team is about what you would expect, we got the token black kid, the nerd, kid in a wheel chair, two Latino twins that don’t speak English,or so we are lead to believe and of course we have the kid with the mom that makes him do all kinds of ridiculous stuff and sued the league to let the kids play in the first place, after all it is the 2000’s and everyone gets a trophy. That is actually one of the main sticking points in the movie between The 2 main coaches, one wants a pay check ( Thornton) and the other thinks the bears shouldn’t even be in a serious league.

The movie is odd to me, I can’t say I don’t like it. Billy Bob plays his role amazing and the kids do an honorable job replicating the roles they are given. That is where my issue comes in, the movie barely counts as an updated version of the movie. Many scenes are practically copy and pasted from the original. The ones that aren’t are pretty much the same scene just slightly changed. While this isn’t truly a bad thing, honestly the original is a classic and it does for the most part equal the original in my eyes, it doesn’t give fans of the original any reason to watch it really. The movie is by no means bad, just not very different. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Purge

purge

Happy belated Independence Day ever one. We hope you had a lovely day before the annual Purge. Soon, we get to discover how the madness started. In 2013 I was excited as hell for the first Purge movie; I swore up and down it was going to change how we saw horror. Poor 2013 me…

In the near future, the USA is enjoying a long period of crime free living and prosperity after the New Founding Fathers took over. How is this so, you may ask? The Purge: one night a year where all crime is legal. The Sandin family are good, privileged folks living in a clean, happy suburb, safe and sound from the horrors outside- until there son let’s a poor wounded man in who’s being hunted by a group of killer yuppies. The killers offer to leave the family alone in exchange for the stranger, but can they live with themselves after?

I wanted this to be epic but alas, this is a pretty generic home invasion movie that wants to have it’s cake and eat it too. It wants to be deep and thought provoking but the scope is too limited to get a feel for the purge’s impact and the commentary you get feels watered down. It wants to be a over the top, Grindhouse style movie, but the horror is jumpscares and the Gore and killings are kind of bland. I felt it was playing it too safe quite a few times. However I did care about the family and in a corny ass sort of way, I liked the cartoony villians too. A lot of pitentpot went to waste but it’s not a bad movie to see if you find it cheap or streamed. May the gaming gods bring you glory and release the beast as they say 😁.

 

 

F.E.A.R 3

fear 3

First and foremost, it is ok to laugh at the actual, F3AR title of this game, if Fant4stic wasn’t bad enough. Why its a belief replacing letters with numbers for a title makes it hip or trendy, I’ll never understand. Fear 3 is another thing I’ll understand, but let’s try. Somehow Alma is pregnant with a super psychic ghost baby and it’s up to her sons Point-Man and Paxton from the first game to stop her as she brings on the apocalypse.

If you read my review of F.E.A.R 2: Project Origin , you’ll know how hard I gave up on the story. That being said, the graphics are the best of the series and the game does have two totally different ways to play. Point-Man we get the F.E.A.R staple of Slo Mo gunplay, only this time with a badass sliding kick. As Paxton, you can shoot blasts of psychic energy and possess others. I feel while the plot is the most disposible, the game maybe the most fun of the series and I can recommend checking it out for some quick FPS fun. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Strangers: Prey at Night

strangers 2

I was skeptic when The Strangers got a sequel after a decade, even more so after Strangers 2, trailer 1 came out. Was I wrong to be nervous after a decade of waiting?

This installment picks up at a trailer park where the familiar trio of strangers murders an elderly couple and not long after, the whole park’s inhabitants while they sleep. We join a family, sending there angst y teenage daughter to boarding school. On there trip, they stay the night at there relative’s home- in the same park the strangers are lurking in, and of course the carnage ensues.

Sadly to say, I was pretty justified to be skeptical. Strangers 2, truth be told feels nothing much like the first movie. Where the first was very suspense heavy, Prey at Night goes for a more gorier, over the top approach. The characters aren’t bad for a slasher movie but Christina Hendrick’s performance is too good for this kind of movie. The son and daughter annoyed the hell out of me at times. The movie is well shot and the over the top scenes are done well. Honestly, if you want a more 80’s style horror movie done today, this isn’t a bad pick. Why I’m kind of pissed is the first movie was suspenseful and had a kind of realism to it the sequel lacks. It is worth watching whether approach you prefer. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

F.E.A.R 2: Project Origin

fear 2

F.E.A.R was a pretty good game. Scary as hell at parts and a fun FPS game. Alma Wade, the creepy ghost girl on the covers of both games, main antagonist, is hardly seen and is chilling when you do…and then a sequel happened. After the events of the first game, we play as Michael Becket, who is sent to deal with the crazy shit going on near the climax of the first. There’s more phenomenon going on, more clone soldiers and way more Alma, and she’s way more naked.

Does this description sound phoned in? After playing the game through at least twice, its pretty damn evident this game is a phoned in sequel. The gameplay and easy mechanics are the game’s best attributes; the game is a entertaining FPS and the Slow Mo again is a nifty feature. The graphics are a good step forward and the sound is solid enough. F.E.A.R 2 pretty much throws any fear Alma created out the window; you will get ambushed by this pointlessly naked, bloody ghost girl A LOT and have to QTE her away. Alma became annoying really quick. The story is a mess, trying to be bigger but I have to honest, I quickly forget most of it due to it’s weak Si Fi channel quality, only without the fun. F.E.A.R 2 isn’t wholly terrible, it’s OK for a quick play through but you will quickly forget it. May the gaming gods bring you glory, and go away Alma.

 

The Last of Us

the last of us

This past E3 there has been a lot of news and controversy over The Last of us 2 as well as trailers and gameplay clips. I’m personally excited for 2, glad that time was taken to develop and put the amount of heart and effort the first game had in it.The first game has been regarded as one of the best PlayStation 3 games of all time, as well as a masterpiece of survival horror, but does it live up to the praise?

After one of the saddest openings in gaming, we join a broken, hardened guy named Joel who is almost alone after utter madness ensued after a fungal infection went rampant. Those infected are the clickers, not your typical zombies; the mold overtakes there face, rendering them blind but able to click for a sort of echolocation. On top of all the sick, people have ruthlessly banned together to scavenge and basically just lose there minds. Joel and his partner are given a job to do, escort a girl named Ellie across the country to a group that thinks her natural immunity to the fungal strain can be used to save the world. Joel’s partner perishes in a attempt to save the pair, leaving Joel and Ellie to make a perilous journey where the world truly feels against them and no choice is ever easy…

Much of what makes Last of Us great is the gripping, tragic, but beautiful story we play through. Joel and Ellie feel extremely real as does there relationship, which constantly twists and turns; I couldn’t think of a character I didn’t feel attached to by the end. The graphics are beautiful as are the voice performances and the gameplay is pretty damn good. Situations are tough, enemies aren’t easy and supplies are seriously limited but I can’t say nothing ever felt impossible, just challenging. The clickers I have to say creep the shit out of me. So what’s the downside? This maybe the slowest burning game I’ve ever played. The story never gets boring but there are some lengthy cut scenes, and in the beginning you find yourself wishing they just made a damn movie because the first chunk I felt I wasn’t playing a game as much as watching a interactive movie. And for my trophy hungry friends out there, sorry guys this game is stingy as hell with them. Last of Us deserves a lot of the hype and praise and I do think it’s one of last generations best games, but don’t expect a fast pace zombie game. May the gaming gods bring you glory.