Now I know I am supposed to love this movie and think it is one of the all-time best Spider-Man movies if not the best. The truth is while I enjoyed it, I don’t think it was one of the best at all. It was simply an average movie that spent way to much time explaining how every Spider-man (and Spider-Gwen and pig) thought they were the only one.
The story of cross dimensions due to a collider while done well has also been done pretty much to death at this point within comics and science fiction, and it wasn’t even done in some new or inventive way. Everything about this movie is as basic and cliche as it could ever be.
The saving grace in all this, however, is that the animation is without a doubt top notch, and at no point was it a chore to watch. The characters are well written and funny, and Miles Morales is a great character in his own right and I am happy to see he isn’t just an attempt at continuing Peter Parker. He has his own abilities and powers along with his own issues and faults to contend with.
The different iterations of Spider-Man from the other dimensions were also fun to see such as Spider-Man Noir being essentially a black and white comic book character that loves a Rubix cube he found and is determined to understand it despite not knowing what the colors even are. Spider-Ham is basically a Looney Tunes character in a suit which was quite hilarious and Peni Parker is a futuristic Japanese girl with a psychic connection to the spider that lives in a sort of mech suit. I feel she doesn’t get the love she deserves by the way.
The movie is good, and if you have Netflix it deserves to be experienced. It is however far from being an all-time great movie. There isn’t anything original about the story and the only thing that makes it interesting is the characters themselves, and they could have been placed in any story with the same results. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
I’m going to be honest, I never watched Mulan as a kid but a vast majority of my friends have. I don’t think the trailer looks bad by any means, it’s filmed nicely and I like that it seems to have a darker tone but I’m likely not going to watch it the same as I haven’t watched the other remade live action Disney classics because I don’t see the point in them. The classics were classic for a reason after all. It still looks promising regardless, and may gaming gods bring you glory.
I am going to make this pretty short and sweet. Anima is a short film that lasts about 15 minutes and I refuse to make you guys read a review that lasts longer than it would take you guys to hop on Netflix and watch it.
Anima is directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and stars Thom York (Radiohead) and Dajana Rocione. The whole thing is getting amazing reviews, 100% on Rotten Tomatoes as of this writing and 8/10 on IMDb.
There are 2 ways to view this. From a technical standpoint, it is amazingly done. The music is fitting, the dancing is well done and the imagery is fantastic. On the flip side, if you don’t like stuff like that, the movie is boring as hell. That is really all you have to ask yourself. If you like musicals and interpretive dance and or very artsy stuff., you will really enjoy this movie. If not, you probably won’t. That being said, it is only 15 minutes. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
I have to admit, I love that we are getting a modern who dun-nit in 2019. I’m so damn used to Chris Evans as Captain America I forget he can be pretty funny too. The cast is pretty awesome and I got a dark comedy vibe from the trailer which seem pretty cool. It seems like an interesting addition to the November movie list and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Some of you may remember my recent article Some Devs Say to Pirate Games Instead of Buying From G2A in which I talked about certain game devs saying they would rather you pirate their games as opposed to buying them from G2A. Over the course of the last few days, G2A has reached out to me (Seriously, I think they may have been googling themselves. No clue why they know who I am) and asked me to share their statement on things. It would be truly dishonest if I didn’t share their side of things, so I will include a link to their full statement as well as some of the highlights that were more interesting to me.
First here is the link to their Statement. It is pretty long and broken up into three parts.
1. The offer for developers
2. A short summary in the form of TL;DR
3. The article presenting in detail what G2A is, how it works, and how it responds to developers’ needs.
They are offering 10 times the money back on chargebacks they lost money on, provided they can prove such a thing happened. The following is copy and pasted directly from their statement.
“To assure honesty and transparency, we will ask a reputable and independent auditing company to make an unbiased examination of both sides – the developer’s store and G2A Marketplace. The cost of the first three audits is on us, every next one will be split 50/50.
The auditing company will check if any game keys sold on G2A were obtained using stolen credit cards on a developer’s store compliant with card scheme rules from Visa and Master Card/payment provider rules. If so, G2A guarantees it’ll pay all the money the developer lost on chargebacks… multiplied by 10.
We want this process to be transparent, so we will publicly report every step of the procedure. Meaning, you will get information such as who came forward, and what the verdict was, all of which will be published for everyone to see.”
This all seems pretty nice, but it also seems like a lot of work on the part of everyone involved, but the 10 times the money back seems fair if it works out that way. They also say in their statement that they do have a way for devs to report suspected illegal keys that can be used to get them off the market and that they are happy to have an honest discussion, as long as it is an open and honest discussion, not just catchy slogans and accusations which also seems fair enough to me.
They also go quite in-depth with how their company works, and I encourage you all to go and read that. It is quite interesting and since I have never used their service I really had no idea how it worked. They also explain how their fraud department works video included, which I will also include.
They also end by explaining a lot of this started due to an unskippable as on google. They say that had to be an error on the client’s side because there is no way to do this with the default options for Google, and having used Google ads myself I can confirm, at least in my experience, this is true. I have never had any option that said hey make this unskippable. If bigger companies get different options I clearly have no way of knowing, I, however, did not. I will leave you with their closing statement copy and pasted from their statement, best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
“Although this is already a huge wall of text, we know we didn’t address everything, and we can expect comments such as “yeah, but they didn’t say anything about…they’re surely hiding something!” That’s why we’ll keep answering any questions by expanding this article.
PS: The first tweet was about an allegedly un-skippable automated G2A ad on Google. This was obviously an error on the client’s side, but we have already informed our friends at Google about it. There is no way that it was caused by G2A simply because that is impossible. Nobody can impact the way that Google Ads work on default and there is no setting to make ads un-skippable.”
Dr Gero was a busy mad scientist indeed. Besides Androids 16- 19, the currently incubating Cell, and turning himself into Android 20, he had another bizarre mechanical trio created to destroy Goku: the dim headed trucker 13, the tall mute 14, and the small shit talking, drinking 15. During a shopping trip for the Z fighters and there families, Androids 14 and 15 make an explosive entrance. Goku and Trunks lure them only to be joined by 13 and Vegeta soon after. The Androids at first beat down the three Saiyans until they transform and the Super Saiyans demolish 14 and 15, leaving 13 on the ropes- until he absorbs there pieces and makes a drastic transformation. Can our heroes survive Super Android 13?
The movie for 13 is simple but pretty good. The beginning feels a bit slow, even when 14 and 15 show up but once its 3 on 3 it’s a good time. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of 13 in his normal state but as Super he is pretty cool. How he gets defeated I always found kind of strange and even kind of pointless but still cool to look at. In the end, it’s a enjoyable DBZ movie that isn’t great but definitely not bad. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Last we saw, things weren’t looking good for the Z fighters. Despite the medicine, Goku is struggling against the heart virus while his family is trying to keep away from the androids who easily beat Vegeta at Super Saiyan. Piccolo, seeing no other option goes to merge with Kami, making him stronger than a Super Saiyan but leaving Earth without Dragonballs. It’s a discovery that raises a whole new series of questions when another time machine is found, same model as Trunks’s but in the brush they find a broken exoskeleton. Entire towns are seeming to vanish, leaving clothes behind. Piccolo mistakes what he feels are the powers of his friends only to discover the monstrosity at work: enter Cell. Dr Gero’s ultimate creation, an living machine made from the cells of all the Z fighters and Frieza, Cell has come from the future to absorb Android 17 and 18 to become perfect. The only real hope they have is finding a level beyond Super Saiyan, but can Goku, Vegeta, Gohan and Trunks find this power before Cell becomes unstoppable?
The Android Saga continues to get better with who I’d say is the best villain of the series. Cell in his earlier forms is creepy as hell but always intimidating; I love seeing the other characters abilities and attacks biting them in ass. What’s great is this is one of the last times the other characters besides the Saiyans are relevant; Krillin and Tien have great moments but I love Piccolo’s fight against 17 which is one of my favorites of all DBZ. Vegeta vs Cell was pretty badass too but Cell’s turnaround makes you fear for the Z fighters. This is DBZ at it’s best and I highly recommend it. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
To my United States readers, Happy Independence day!! To my British readers, sorry but you guys losing that war and women’s soccer thing. Seriously tho for my not American readers many of you don’t know how we celebrate this holiday, but may know the stereotype. We have a cookout, eat massive amounts of food, and the adults get drunk while the kids play. After that, we tell the kids how dangerous fireworks are while drunk adults set off small explosives and spark-filled objects. What actually happens is we have a cookout, eat massive amounts of food, and the adults get drunk while the kids play. After that, we tell the kids how dangerous fireworks are while drunk adults set off small explosives and spark-filled objects.
Ok so it isn’t really a stereotype if it is 100% true, but that is mostly what happens. I honestly do not even know why we do it. That being said, a lot of people will get hurt today as you may expect so please, be careful, don’t drink and drive, and have a sober person play with the fireworks. Best wishes and may the gaming gods watch over you.
So we come to what many consider to be the best saga Dragonball Z has to offer: the Android Saga. It all begins with the conclusion to Dragonball Z:The Frieza Saga with the reveal that despite being cut in half and the destruction of a planet, Frieza is not dead. His remains were found in the vastness of space by his father, King Cold; Frieza is restored with a host of mechanical pieces and is pissed, taking Cold and his soldiers to Earth for revenge. The Z fighters sense him coming, but without Goku there chances of survival as well as Earth’s are slim. Frieza and Cold land, to be greeted by a young man they’d never seen. Easily he slays the soldiers and faces Frieza and his father, demonstrating his true power- he’s a Super Saiyan. He destroys Frieza and Cold once and for all and continues to wait for Goku to return. The young man is Trunks, Vegeta and Bulma’s son from the future. In the future, Goku dies of a yet undiscovered heart virus. Years later, 2 androids emerge created by Dr Gero of the fallen Red Ribbon Army and systematically kill the Z fighters one by one. Trunks brings Goku the medicine he’ll need to survive the virus and delivers the date the androids will arrive, years from then. Three years later, they arrive as Trunks predicted but when Trunks arrives to help, he finds the terrible fact that the androids he warned about aren’t the same. History has changed but can the Z fighters survive?
This is where I truly began to love DBZ. Trunks’s debut is one of DBZ’s most epic moments and he is one of my favorite characters. Also, I love that Vegeta becomes a Super Saiyan. Android 19 and 20 were cool but 17, 18, and 16 are a great, likable trio as well as badasses; watching 18 fight Vegeta was brutal. The season ends with an awesome cliffhanger of the horrors to come. There are some filler episodes but I don’t mind them, especially when Goku and Piccolo compete learning how to drive. Definitely worth a watch and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
So Dragonball Z:The Frieza Saga left us with a cliff hanger, what became of Goku after Namek finally exploded? Well, you ain’t finding that answer here. Months after getting back from Namek, the gang goes on with there normal lives. Gohan is studying, Goku’s friends are partying and Krillin has a new girlfriend. Life goes on, until the Black Water Mist is unleashed, turning nearly everyone evil. Garlic Jr ( from Dragonball Z: The Dead Zone ) has found himself freed from the Dead Zone, and has come back with a new scheme. It’s up to Gohan, Krillin and Piccolo to stop him before its too late..
If this review seems unenthusiastic, it’s because this tiny saga is strictly filler. There is no real weight to the rest of the series, except to add something else to a point made later in the series. Garlic Jr is a pretty weak villain compared to Vegeta, the Ginyu Force, or Frieza. If you decide to watch this arc, it is short but if you chose to skip feel free and skip to Trunks. May the gaming gods bring you glory.