Harley Quinn SDCC trailer

It’s no real new the DC streaming service ain’t doing so great, after the fast cancellation of Swamp Thing and the only Titans getting green lite for a second season, despite meh ratings at best. I must admit, I dig the bright, colorful, and pretty adult-rated Harley cartoon. I can’t say it looks great but it sure looks promising. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Revenge of the Nerds 2: Nerds in Paradise

Revenge of the Nerds 2 takes place the following year after the Tri Lambs have taken over the Greek counsel in Revenge of the Nerds (1984). This time they have gone to the National Fraternity Conference in Florida. Nothing like a beautiful time with beautiful women right? That at least was their hopes on the way down there.

With all these fraternities there the Alphas are of course back, and they don’t want the nerds in their hotel. The manager is also a former member of Alpha house and of course, gives them the boot. Not to be deterred they find a new hotel, one that has all the amenities you would expect from a hotel in sunny Fort Lauderdale Flordia.

That is what the ad claimed anyway. They show up to a body being stretchered out, the pool is brown and has something living in it and a chalk outline drawn in their room, separate from where the body was wheeled out from. This is all before they are set up to be kicked out of the conference and an attempt at having their charter revoked. I won’t spoil all those details for you, but the movie is quite a bit different from the last one and has had plenty of hits with reviewers but fans seem to enjoy it, at least I did.

The movie is funny and over the top at times, and I mean that in a positive way and in true 80s fashion there is some nudity for the male fans to enjoy. By all means jump on Hulu and check these classics out, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Family Guy

family-guy

I’m pretty sure this show needs no introductions. It’s brought joy and rage to thousands; it’s that show your parents yelled at you for watching but right after went into there rooms and watched, and is arguably one of the most controversial shows on TV.

The show revolves around the Griffin family as they live a ordinary/ less than ordinary life in Quahog, Rhode Island with a colorful cast of friends and side characters. The Griffin’s are Peter the idiotic dad, Lois the housewife trying to keep it together, Chris the fat, dimwitted son, Meg the outcast, Stewie the homicidal baby and there dog Brian the lush and pompous wannabe writer. For the first few seasons, the Griffins almost felt like a modern day Simpsons for the new millennium, with a bit more edge and a style of using cutaways to mini skits to keep the laughs rolling. It was alright then, not really too special but the fan base was dedicated and was able to revive it from cancellation.

Coming back after a few years with season 4, Family Guy sky-rocketed in popularity and came back more insane than ever. From seasons 4 to 9, the show pushed the limits anyway it could and honestly that’s when it was the best in my opinion- I mean hell they even did there own version of the Star Wars trilogy and it was pretty hilarious. In high school it was the one show most kids I knew watched, despite what clique they were in, and most of the people I worked with were the same. If you want to see the best of Family Guy, I recommend seasons 4-9.

Season 10 to the present day is when the magic seemed to die. There’s few episodes that were in some pretty bad taste, meant for a shock laugh, but instead left me feeling kinda dirty. Another thing that was beginning to creep it’s way in was how toxic the Griffin’s really are; where they began feeling like a flawed but decent hearted family at there core, in the present I find all of them to be insufferable assholes in there own way. Like many shows gone on too long, things got stale and I couldn’t even bother getting past season 12. I peaked in around the others and found no sign of hope, just the rotting corpse of what was a good show.

To wrap this piece up, the first 9 seasons are a good time I’d definitely recommend but stop there. What I found beyond there wasn’t worth watching. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Revenge of the Nerds (1984)

I am fairly sure this movie saw a whole host of nerds getting their ass kicked in the mid and late 1980s. The movie has a simple concept, a group of nerds goes to school completely unknown to each other. A bunch of jocks accidentally burn their house down and kick everyone out of the freshmen dorms. Eventually, the nerds find a home, fix it up and attempt to become their own fraternity.

When they discover they have to get sponsored by a national fraternity to do so, they become Lambda Lambda Lambdas and attempt to take over the greek counsel to force a vote so they can become official. This leads to a bunch of issues with the jocks, hilarity ensues. Tho I am fairly sure one of the sex scenes counts as rape since the one nerd pretends to be someone he isn’t to sleep with the woman he has a crush on, tho afterward she is also magically ok with it? So its a very odd scene that in today’s world would not fly at all. The movie itself is a classic and a must-watch for fans of the era. You can catch it now on Hulu. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Overboard (2018)

The 2018 version of Overboard stars Anna Faris (Kate Sulivan) a mother of three, pizza deliver woman and would be nurse if she could pass the test. Eugenio Derbez (Leonardo Montenegro) plays the billionaire playboy whos yacht needs to be cleaned while he entertains numerous women and drinks his life away. Like the 80’s version, the two don’t get along and there is a fight that leaves poor Kate unpaid and floating in the ocean. After an accident, Leo is left in the hospital with no memory. His rich sister that wants the family company leaves him there so he can be lost in the system.

Kate, of course, sees him on the news and decides to get her money worth the same way the 80;s version played out. She fakes their marriage and send him to work and makes him cook and clean while she studies for her test. It is also worth mentioning they specifically mention a woman with amnesia from the ’80s this happened to in the same city.

The two of course eventually fall in love and make quite the nice couple, until his memory comes back when Leo’s youngest sister figures out what the oldest sister did. You can watch the movie to see how it plays out, younger people may prefer it to the 80’s version. It isn’t a bad movie but I do like the other better. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Overboard (1987)

The 1987 movie Overboard starring Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell is a classic to many fans of 80’s movies, tho it didn’t fair to well with critics and ranked in just under $27 million which for the time wasn’t too bad. The story itself has Dean Profitt (Kurt) playing a single father of three kids and carpenter is hired by Joanna (Goldie) to build a closet on her yacht. Joanna is kind of a dick so when the two get into a fight Dean is left angry and unpaid and she leaves.

Joanna, however, ends up falling overboard in an accident and left hospitalized with amnesia. When Dean finds out he decides to get his money one way or the other and pretends to be her husband. This nets him a mother for his kids and a free housewife. The plan starts out fairly well but as we all know in the end, this doesn’t go well for long. The two do of course fall in love because its a romantic comedy after all. It is a great watch for fans of the era but I feel like it doesn’t hold up very well for new fans. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Jay and Silent Bob Reboot Trailer

Oh, Jay and Silent Bob, Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith, you funny weird bastards. This trailer and movie are about to be no exception. At first, I kind of assumed it would be some weird reboot of the Jay and Silent Bob universe which bummed me out but trusting Kevin Smith I was going to watch regardless. However, finding out that it is a movie about a reboot of the movie made in Jay and Silent Bob strike back I am really looking forward to this one. So enjoy the trailer and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

IT Chapter 2 trailer 2

It’s amazing how an awesome trailer can perk you up before a grueling day at work. My hype for this movie is pretty huge, I’d say as much as my friends were hyped for Godzilla: King of the monsters (Torsten) . The visuals were incredible and it’s always awesome to get some Pennywise in my day. It looks awesome and September can’t get here fast enough. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

3 From Hell trailer 2

I wasn’t impressed at all during the last glimpse we got of a movie I really couldn’t see a point in. This trailer, revealing a good deal of the plot, at least helps me see a point in it’s existence. It’s a fair excuse how Otis, Capt Spaulding, and Baby survived but it’s still feels flimsy to me. Still I like the tone seems to be a hybrid of the previous two movies. It’ll be interesting how it plays out. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle

rocky and bullwinkle

For the past 17 years now, mainly after reading Dark Tower 6: Song of Susannah I’ve feared inter-dimensional rifts where the characters I created would walk amongst us and likely waste my ass in the process. Well before that, I saw the Rocky and Bullwinkle movie…

Who doesn’t know the beloved cartoon characters Rocket J Squirrel (Rocky) and Bullwinkle J Moose? Throughout the old days, the adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle charmed and entertained folks for years to come, thwarting the plots of Fearless Leader and his lackeys Boris and Natasha. When the 90’s and early 2000’s bring a time when they are nearly forgotten, until a movie executive accidentally  brings the nefarious trio into or real world and begin trying to take over our world. Our only hope is in young special agent Karen Sympathy who sneaks into Hollywood Studios and green lights Rocky and Bullwinkle into reality. Can our Cartoon heroes save the day in a world far from theirs?

The Rocky and Bullwinkle movie, while corny, awkward, and a little dated, it’s a charming fish- out- of- water story. It was really cool the voices of Rocky, Bullwinkle, and the narrator are the classic voices; Deniro, Alexander, and Russo do really well as live action versions of the villains. The acting is all around solid and there’s a lot of cameos throughout. The movie is extremely meta which may or may not turn some people off but I liked how it was done. In the end, the Rocky and Bullwinkle movie isn’t a bad movie and its a charming little comedy for the kids. May the gaming gods bring you glory.