Masterminds (2016)

Masterminds starring Zach Galifinakis and Kristin Wiig is the story of a robbery gone right believe it or not. A cool $17 million and a trip to Mexico. The problem is after David (Zach) is sent to Mexico before meeting up with Kelly (Kristin) whom has no intention of going there he is betrayed by Steve (Owen Wilson) and the feds are now after him.

Things get worse for David when Steve sends an assassin, Mike (Jason Sudeikis). Luckily for him the fake name they used for Dave happens to be Mike McKinney. Yes they used the assassins name and life as his alias. In a weird twist tho they become friends.

The movie itself is pretty solid but isn’t great. The most interesting thing about it tho, is it is actually based on a true story and to this day around $2 million dollars of the $17 million in the Loomis Fargo  Bank heist is still missing. Feel free to check this one out, if only just for the story. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Daddy’s Home 2 (2007)

Daddy’s Home 2 is a rather odd movie for me. The movie has a ton of talent with Mark Wahlberg, Will Ferrell,Mell Gibson and John Lithgow. The movie weirdly tho bounces between a by the numbers comedy and a hilarious comedy. The acting as you would expect is always top-notch however.

The story is quite simple. Take two families, and 2 grandparents with mixed style of parenting and stick them in a cabin and watch as things progress. The issue is the laughs that exist are amazing, they just come few and far between. There isn’t anything wrong with the story or anything like that it is just hit and miss with the script.

There are some memorable moments tho, for example the hunting scene is one of my favorite scenes in recent memory and it was quite hilarious when Wills character cut down a cell phone tower instead of a tree. The movie isn’t truly bad, it just isn’t as good as one would expect. Best wishes, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our favorites, day 31: Slither

slither

Happy Halloween everyone from Savior and I. Isn’t it funny that our second Halloween special ends with our Valentine’s day special. Well, there’s a reason. As he stated in Our Favorites Day 31: Slither (Savior) this pretty much our bromance movie. If our fat asses got caught in a movie, this would be it and I’d be the one freaking out because there was no fucking Mr. Pib. Every year we’d meet up and watch horror movies, usually obscure ones at that, and this is our favorite. So que the Yahoos, have a safe holiday, and give me me some damn Mr. Pib.

The Hatred Revisited (2017)

download (6).jpg

It wasn’t to long ago I watched this movie, and honestly I didn’t really know what to do with it. Here is my original review. The Hated (2017) I decided to watch it again because honestly I forgot I watched it already until about halfway through. Maybe that should be an indication of how good the movie is. You can see from my other review the movie had potential,and I stand by that. The movie could have been amazing, and the acting was really well done, I have no complaints there, and there is a scene where the little girl insist her baby sitter checks under the bed and when she does it’s the little girl telling her to shush because that isn’t her. When the sitter looks up, yup its a ghost.

Many aspects of the movie are great like that, and even the beginning explains how the house got into the state it was in showing an Nazi post WW2 living in America hiding an old object given to him from a friend as a reward from Hitler and a letter telling him to protect it.

The movie is definitely worth checking out tho, with how torn on it I am I can see other people enjoying it tho it does have pretty bad reviews from IMBd (3.7/10) and 59% from  Google users, so maybe not. Maybe do like the girls in the movie and drink a bottle of wine before deciding anything, best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our Favorites Day 31: Slither (Savior)

Here we are, Halloween and the final day of our favorite horror movies. You will notice that me and @torstenvblog are both doing a movie today and it happens to be the same movie, Slither Slither 2nd opinion (2006)

Why are we both covering a movie we have both already reviewed? Well a long time ago we both worked at the same place and didn’t know each other. He was some guy pushing carts in the parking lot and I worked in the garden section. He did his thing and I did mine. One day I got dragged out of my department and sent outside to help that dude in the parking lot and while bullshitting about our shared hatred for our job we discovered we had much in common. Video games, books, horror movies and mostly that we hated our damn boss.

About 6 months later I left that hell hole for good, but he needed help moving and of course I had my friends back. We got him settled in, unpacked played some games and decided to get together for what would become a tradition we have followed ever since. Once a year for Halloween we get together and watch horror movies, but the first one I remember was this movie.It had it all, some silly jump scare attempts, a mayor screaming for his Mr. Pip, death and gore and the greatest love song of all time.

I don’t care what you all say, it’s a love song. “Queue The mother fucking Yahoos!” Seriously, I got that text from @torstenvblog the day him and his girlfriend broke up. She was insane. Seriously upper tier insane.

Regardless that is why I love this movie, it solidified what became the best friendship I have ever had and gave us one of the best inside jokes I have been part of. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our favorites, day 30: Halloween

halloween

Of course this was going to be here, it is the definitive classic of the holiday. A kid in a clown costume stabs his sister, gets locked in the funny farm, and 15 years later busts out and goes killing teenagers in his sleepy little hometown of Haddonfield. Simple but oh so awesome. Donald Pleasence is outstanding as Loomis, giving one of the best “we’re fucked” speeches ever; Michael is genuinely creepy and menacing; the theme is iconic; and it is my all time favorite OH SHIT ending. Michael Myers will always be the Boogeyman to me. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Pumpkinhead 2:Bloodwings (1993)

Pumpkinhead 2 starts out in a flashback to the 1950’s where a group of kids hunt down, torture and kill a disfigured kid and drop him down a mine shaft. Years later another group of kids rob a witch, and summon Pumpkinhead. Pumpkinhead goes on a killing spree for the teens that robbed the witch and killed the disfigured boy.

This is a short synopsis and I kept it short because honestly the movie was awful. The acting is pretty solid and the monster still looks good enough but everything else is just horrible. The story makes no real sense, the dialogue is corny and the plot is full of holes and doesn’t even make much sense. For example the slam this witch with a car doing about 40 miles an hour and she gets right up and walks away but a quick hit with a flashlight and she is down for the count. Pumpkinhead in the first movie is well documented as only being summoned for truly horrible things and now its being summoned for petty theft and attacking people who had nothing to do with the crime?

Even with all of this aside much of what made the first movie interesting in the first place is also gone. There isn’t much redeeming about this movie at all, in fact it is better off avoided. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Our favorites, day 29: Trick r Treat

trick r treat

Trick r Treat is my favorite anthology movie of probably all time and for good reason: all four stories are unique and cleverly woven into a single narrative of Halloween night in a tiny suburb. Sam is a underground horror icon and weirdly I’d call him my 4th favorite horror icon. Trick r Treat makes the list because it was a small little film I found in the shit bin at BlockBuster that I’d seen trailers for in nothing movies that turned out to be the best horror movie I’ve seen in years. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

PumpkinHead (1988)

Oh Pumpkin Head, the 1988 cult classic. The story is simple, some city folks accidentally kill a child with their dirt bike, and dad (Lance Henriksen) goes to an old witch type woman to call upon the folklore monster of Pumpkinhead to come and kill those city bastards. The problem is when Ed Harley starts to actually see the deaths happen he starts to have some buyers remorse. When it turns out he can’t undo what has already been done he sets out to stop the monster himself.

The creature actually looked pretty solid for the 1980’s and the story itself is pretty fun. The movie isn’t actually all that special and offers nothing new really. It is just a tail of revenge and a creature being fought, but what makes this different is that Ed really seems to regret it and tries to stop it even tho he is the one that was wronged in the first place. Pumpkinhead himself isn’t even truly evil as he can only be summoned by someone against someone who has done something really bad against them. You can’t summon him because your neighbor like keyed your car or because she won’t go out with you on a Friday night. The movie is a fun watch, but it isn’t a great movie. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

As always feel free to help us out if you want the movie by picking it up on Amazon

Pumpkinhead

Jigsaw

jigsaw

Wanna play a game? Well, Lionsgate does because they probably need money. That is pretty much the first, lingering thought I had through most of this damn movie: Cash Grab.

Almost a decade has passed since the last Jigsaw killings. All of John Kramer’s followers are dead and gone, or are they? The investigations kick up after a series of bodies turn up mutilated in classic Jigsaw fashion as we discover a new game afoot. The players involved have sins Jigsaw demands they confess. As a mortician and his jigsaw obsessed assistant follow the leads, they begin to discover a truth about John Kramer and the event that kicked off his descent into madness, leading to the question did he really die in the first place?

For the most part this movie can up and kiss my ass. Jigsaw maybe a reboot but essentially it reuses most of the series plots in a mash. The final trap is pretty cool in a way over the top WTF fashion but none of the traps are really memorable. The characters are forgettable except for Tobin Bell’s cameo. It is filmed better than most of the series and it is really fast paced but in the end, it’s a Saw movie, by movie #8 in the series you should know what you are in for. May the gaming gods bring you glory.