Hellboy

hellboy

As we often do here on the blog, when something ” new” comes out ( I say “new” in quotations because how much do we get in art anymore is actually new really) we tend to look back at what came before. what launched me to look in this uncanny place was the Hellboy 2019 first trailer . Also, I don’t normally begin reviews this way but I am today- Ron Pearlman will always be Hellboy to me in the category of RDJ as Iron Man, Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, or Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool. He is simply awesome.

Hellboy is a strange kind of hero. His father, Professor Trevor Broom finds him during a paranormal operation during WW2; a little red boy with horns, tail and a stone arm breaches his way into our world from another. Decades later, the child has grown into pretty much a normal dude that just happens to be the destined bringer of doom, look like the devil, and work for the government fighting all sorts of cool supernatural shit along with his friend and psychic fish man Abe Sapien, and dealing with his rocky relationship with volatile pyro-kinectic sweetheart Liz and together they face Rasputin, who brought Hellboy here and is out to start the end of days…

Hellboy is a pretty damn unique superhero movie in a lot of ways. The characters are strange and humanly flawed, there’s a meta edge to the film and the comics it’s based and there’s a good balance between light and dark elements. As I said, Pearlman is fantastic as Hellboy and the supporting characters are pretty solid. I must say the villains are bland by comparison and a rare occasion where the heroes way outshine the bad guys. This was the movie that made me a fan of Guillermo Del Toro, who was a perfect fit for the strange world and he clearly appreciated the source material. In the end, Hellboy was a cool superhero movie that I feel deserves more credit than it got and definitely deserves a watch. May the gods bring you glory.

Bird Box (2018)

The movie starts off like most movies, a lonely woman finding out she is pregnant. Why this is such a popular starting point I will never know. They always have friends and someone to knock them up so you couldn’t have been that lonely. Either way Bird Box doesn’t waste much time. It isn’t long before a hospital trip for Malorie (Sandra Bullock) sees a woman slamming her head off the hard glass of the hospital window. This is where people start seeing something and killing themselves. Yes, it is essentially The Happening at this point.

The movie is set up almost as a series of flashbacks between when everything started and Malorie’s journey with Boy and Girl to the safety of a new community. Yes, those are the children’s names, Boy (Julian Edwards)and Girl (Vivian Lyra Blair). The bouncing back and forth is actually done really well, at no point are you ever confused as to what is going on or when. Both points are self-contained with the past explaining how Malorie ended up where she is at and the present explaining where she is going, why she is going there and why she chose the manner in which she is doing it.

The movie is entertaining and suspenseful but I do have a few complaints, none of which are the fact that it is essentially The Happening or A Quiet Place as many have compared it to and rightfully so. No, I don’t mind those things. Hell, the Lion King is essentially Hamlet. Stories are often retold. My issue is the many things the movie doesn’t do for example show what is causing these deaths or truly explain why some batshit crazy people are immune to it.

This movie is a love it or hate it situation. It has a 50% on Metacritic for example and a 68% on rotten tomatoes (65 critics 75 fans) and it is mostly from some people saying the movie is amazing and others saying it is a flaming pile of turds. Except for one person from The Root that thinks the movie is about racism, but I think this person didn’t actually see the movie. One of the things they claim they didn’t explain in the movie is quite clearly explained, and some of their ideas are quite the stretch which is sad since the page is usually quite well informed and well written (especially Mr. Harriot)

All in all tho, the movie isn’t all that new or different and each person will view it differently, whether you love it or hate it, or even see it as an inditement about racism in America, give it a watch and see what you come up with then let me know what you think. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

2019 Games I Am Looking Forward To Most

images

The first game I am looking forward to if from Kalypso and that is Tropico 6. I loved the earlier games and Tropico 5 is a great game, so 6 should be even better.

download (3)

I have always been a pretty big MK fan, even from the very first I begged my parents for. So being at number eleven seems like such a long way, and it looks better than ever for me.

download (2)

The first time I played this was actually on the Dreamcast, and admittedly I kind of hated it. I wasn’t a fan of the earlier games with the tank controls. I loved the stories but damn I hated those controls. This game tho looks great and has controls I like.

download (1)

Last but not least, we have the game we all knew would be here, Kingdom Hearts 3. I enjoyed the others and won’t be missing out on this bad boy. After years of waiting for it tho, a lot of people will be disappointed I am sure. Either way, we will know, best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Worst Game I Played in 2018

Every Year companies and people talk about the best games they have ever played or the games of that year. This year I want to give a special shout out to the worst game I have played this year. Lunch Truck Tycoon 2 Review (PS4) It didn’t come out this year I know, but I got this piece of trash on sale for cheap as hell and I still wanted my money back. The game was damn near unplayable and is one of the few games I will outright say to never buy and more even if its free, still don’t play it. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Happy Birthday, Stan Lee

Today is the first birthday of Stan Lee since he passed and Twitter is abuzz with well wishes and memories of the man and all his creations. ComicbookNOW even has a touching remembrance video of the man that would have been 96 years old today. The King of Cameos touched the lives of millions of people and will touch the lives of millions more even after his passing, so for all my fellow nerds out there take a moment today and remember the man that loved comics not only when loving comics wasn’t cool, but when they really didn’t much exist yet. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Sleepaway Camp

Now I know what some of you are thinking. Hey Savior, of all the stuff you could have used from the movie why did you pick two half-dressed women or hey, Savior why are you using scantily clad women for views? Truth is I am not. See those 2 women, those are the evilest people in the damn movie.

Now that is out of the way this movie is a straight Friday the 13th rip-off. Seriously it takes place at a summer camp, camp counselors are incompetent and ignore all the wrongdoings to the children, legit one is a pedophile and they all know it.

That being said the movie is supposed to be a horror movie, but it is hilarious. Seriously @torstenvblog and I laughed the entire time and the movie is amazing. Don’t take my word for it, because this bad boy is on youtube in its entirety, So below is the movie, in its entirety. Don’t worry, it’s not illegal or anything. They just let it up on youtube for whatever reason. So enjoy it and the insanely popular ending. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Silent Night, Bloody Night

bloody night

Let me start off by saying a special thank you to Savior and his family for taking me in during the holidays, I love all you guys. The holidays are about love, togetherness and good will onto others; they’re probably not meant to watch shitty, free public domain Christmas horror movies that aren’t about Christmas. Sorry Savior.

Disclaimer: this is not a review of Silent Night, Deadly Night. No killer dressed as Santa. No abuse of kid by tyrannical nuns. No “Garbage Day” ( high five to those of you who get the reference). Truth be told, and I quote Savior himself ” I don’t think the damn people that wrote this fucking movie know what it’s about.” The basic gist is there is a house where a guy died ( he was accidentally burned to death but it was no accident) and his grandson decades later goes to sell it, but there’s a killer killing people involved with the sale because I guess it was a mental asylum at some point and this dude’s mom was wrongful killed by the inmates who killed the rich owners and took over as the movers and shakers of this town. Sound like a mess, eh? It is.

Silent Night, Bloody Night is a dumpster fire. The plot and story for this movie are damn confusing to where it’s nonsensical at times. The actors seem unmotivated to where I swore they were drugged on some heavy ass downers. There is some ok atmosphere and music and random gore that made us laugh. This movie made Savior salty as hell and I got some cheap laughs as we asked WTF was going on. As I mentioned earlier, it’s public domain- hell, we watched it on YouTube for free on perfect quality so if you and your friends, family, or pets want to get drunk and watch a movie, this is a good pick. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Us trailer 1

So I’m going to be honest, I’m pretty damn behind on modern horror classics. I’d say Split is probably the most recent I’ve seen and it was 2017 before I saw Sinister , half a decade after release. This being said, I missed Get Out, Jordan Peele’s breakout horror hit last year. While it’s on my list of horror films to see, I found myself radically surprised by the first trailer of Us. The concept seems pretty cool, having to fight a warped version of yourself and your own family. There is some creepy imagery and I’m genuinely intrigued and can’t wait for more. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

My Top 5 Games of 2018

So its that time of year for everyone to start saying what they think the game of the year is. As a small blog obviously I have not played them all. So please don’t go nuts because I excluded your favorite game or there aren’t any Nintendo games, I don’t own a Switch. So in no real order, here are 4 games I played and 1 I did not but I will explain.

download (2)

Spider-Man is the before mentioned game I never played but it made the list anyway. The reason is a number of my friends have played it and all agree it is amazing and @torstenvblog hasn’t shut up about it since he started playing it. I also watched my friend Elliot play it over on Twitch quite a bitch so I am confident to put it on this list.

download

Next up is A Way Out. The game may be short but the story is great, the gameplay is fun and the concept is amazing. What is even better is while the game requires 2 players you have 2 options. Couch Co-op or online, but only 1 person needs to own the game and that alone for me puts it on the list.

download (1)

Monster Hunter World has a decent enough story and pretty good gameplay. Realistically it shouldn’t even be fun tho. You simply kill monsters to build better gear to kill bigger monsters and make new gear, to kill bigger monsters. It is a vicious cycle that never really ends. And yet, every time a friend says hey Savior how about you come help me kill stuff I get pulled right back in.

images (1)

Jurassic Park Evolution Review is far from a great or perfect game, but for me, it was just a fun game. It let me do exactly what I wanted. Build a park, raise some dinos..let them rip some visitors apart. You know the true Jurassic Park experience.

images

Red Dead Redemption 2, Another Look. was always going to be on this list, you know that and I know that. You all know why it’s on the list. I won’t dwell on it for long. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Gremlins

gremlins

Merry Christmas everyone from us at Saviorgaming to you all at home. Last year Savior and I covered the wonderful family film Die Hard (1988) and Die Hard 2: Die Harder and I covered the only Christmas game I know of, Batman: Arkham Origins so where do we go from here? Well, how about Gremlins…

Randal Peltzer was average traveling inventor and salesman who wondered into a mysterious little shop in Chinatown, trying to sell his wares to no a vale. The old man doesn’t budge. Meanwhile Randall sees something at the furthest reach of the shop, a cute little critter he’s never seen before. He inquires about it but all his offers are shot down; Randall ends up taking the creature with 3 basic rules to care for it: don’t ever get it wet, don’t expose it to bright light, and don’t feed it after midnight no matter what. The maogi called Gizmo is a gift to Billy, Randall’s son, a quiet good hearted banker crushing on Kate, who has a pretty legit reason for hating Christmas. Gizmo is adorable and affectionate but isn’t long until Billy learns how important the rules are. Getting wet, Gizmo reproduces but his offspring aren’t as lovable. In fact they’re little bastards. Well, after the leader of this new brood cuts the wire to Billy’s alarm, he inadvertently feeds them after midnight. They transform into hideous, mischievous, and murderous monsters that wreck havoc in the town, and it’s up to Billy, Kate, and Gizmo to stop them…

Dude, it’s hard not to like Gremlins. The characters are really likable and the story is a strange but warm mix of family film and creature feature. Gizmo is one of the cutest damn things I’ve ever seen and the Gremlins are nightmarish. I can actually recommend this as a family film as well as a simply good movie for the holiday. May the gaming gods bring you glory this holiday season.