Annabelle comes home trailer

Am I the only one who finds it weird that that are officially more Annabelle movies than Conjuring movies in the Conjuring-universe? I love The Conjuring (2013) and thought The Conjuring 2 was alright but never understood why the hell WB thought making a cinematic universe out of these movies was a good idea, Annabelle: Creation being the only one in the series of spin-offs to be critically acclaimed. What to I make of Annabelle 3? Sadly I can’t say it’ll join Creation as the exception; I like the Warrens are actually in it and one or shot look cool but the rest of the trailer just feels like every other bland horror movie out there today. I hope I’m wrong as an optimist but time will tell. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Romero Games And Paradox Interactive Team Up

Reported by Variety and announced on Twitter by Brenda Romero, Romero Games (Gunman Taco Truck and Dangerous Dave in the Deserted Pirate’s Hideout) for mobile. Not much has been said, except that more will be announced at E3 this year and it is a strategy game of some sort. Don’t let the name Romero fool you tho, it is a pretty popular last name and there is no relation with the famed director George A Romero so chances are it is not a horror-themed game despite some speculation I have seen in some forums. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Joker trailer 1

I’ve always had a weird feeling about knowing Joker was getting a solo origin movie. Much like Venom , I wasn’t sure if a villain movie could be as effective without the heroes they counter. But Joaquin Phoenix is a very talented dramatic actor and I actually found the new look interesting. The trailer looks eerie and I like Phoenix’s narrations. I’m now pretty invested in this now and I’m excited to see how the movie plays out. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Playstation To Allow Returns On Preorders, Provided You Don’t Download It.

As reported by TechRadar Sony will now be allowing returns of preorders with a few rules of course. First, you can’t download it, and yes that includes pre-loading the game. However, this is good until launch if you ordered more than 14 days before launch. There is more to it and the TechRadar link provides more details, but those are the big points you need to know, most notably the don’t download it part. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Scream 4

scream 4

Before I start talking about Scream 4, I feel I have to say this now: I love the Scream series and its directer, the legendary Wes Craven of The Hills Have Eyes , Last House on the Left , and Nightmare on Elm Street . Sadly, as far as I know, this was Craven’s last mainstream movie before he passed away years later. In the end, I don’t want to shit on this movie, but I have to be honest when doing this review…

Like many horror movies, Sidney Prescott’s story has been subject of tasteless, aimless sequel after sequel. Sid has become a famous, nationwide bestselling author who returns to her hometown as part of her book tour. Dewey is the town sheriff in charge while an unhappy Gale loses her mind as a writer in a small town. Meanwhile Sid’s younger cousin is seeming to have to repeat Sid’s past when a new killer is emerging, more violent than the ones in the past, trying to make a real life reboot.

So here we have a the definition of a pointless sequel. Besides an alright twist at the end and a funny opening scene, the movie doesn’t really have much to offer. Neve Campbell and Courtney Cox give good performances with Emma Roberts but the rest of the cast lacks enthusiasm. The movie drags a bit and lacks the tension of the other films because the characters no longer really drive it. While far from worst horror sequel ever, I don’t see a reason for it to exist except for an excuse to beat money out of a dormant franchise and I’m sad to see this be Craven’s last major movie so I say it’s great to skip. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Scream 3

scream 3

Sidney, deep in her heart, knew it wasn’t going to end. Her mother’s sins weren’t ever going to let her be, and the people she loved were going to pay. After the deaths at the college, Sid goes into hiding. Two movies later, with a third in production, Gale’s career is full swing and Dewey is helping with the production as an adviser. Trouble comes when Cotton, the man framed for the murder of Sid’s mother, is brutally killed all evidence points to a new copycat. But things are different now, this killer is able to take bullets and is smart enough to learn from the previous killers by using there identities against them. Along with this are the new revelations the killer brings about Sid’s mom and the legacy that lead down a surprisingly dark path. Can Sid, Dewey, and Gale bring down the final killer of a real life trilogy?

Scream 3 is divisive but to me personally, it was a good way to end the trilogy and weirdly one of my favorites. Again the main characters are what kept me invested. The story is overall solid with a good revelation but there are a few thin, disposable characters the water the movie down a bit. There is also more meta comedy and references which may bother some but I found pretty cool. The score and cinematography are again really good and the movie is well paced. In the end, Scream 3 is a good end to a pretty good trilogy- but stop there, I warn you. Just pretend Scream ends with a trilogy of good solid movies. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Scream 2

scream 2

After surviving Scream , Sidney Prescott needed to get away from her hometown after discovering she pegged the wrong guy for her mom’s murder and it was her disgruntled boyfriend and there twisted friend who did the deed and killed there friends. Sid and Randy went to college, where they made new friends and tried to get on with there lives, Sid even falling with a kind hearted med student. Dewey and Gale are at ends when Gale writes a book on the murders , painting a less than heroic picture of Dewey. If the book Gale wrote wasn’t enough, a major movie adaptation was made and here is where the terror restarts- two people are slayed at the opening weekend in a ghost mask. The bodies start dropping as the new killer starts trying to make a real life sequel and the new search begins for the killers…

As far as sequels go, especially horror sequels, Scream 2 is pretty good. The returning characters are still likable and they keep you invested through not only the series but the this movie in particular. This time, the killers are a little more predictable to figure out but there is a good twist with the main killer of the two. The movie is filmed and scored well with good pacing. Overall it’s a good sequel and a fair horror movie from Wes Craven and worth a watch. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Scary stories to tell in the dark trailer

I loved the Scary Stories trilogy ever since our teachers used to read them to us in grade school. When I heard their was going to be a movie, I at first thought it was going to be like the Goosebumps but then I found out Guillermo Del Toro was a part of it and the images started coming out. It was awesome to see the iconic artwork from the books come to life. This does not look like a children’s movie, rather than a real horror movie and I’m pretty excited to see how it turns out. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Alien: Containment

As an huge Alien fan, it’s been a rocky few years. To celebrate the 40th anniversary of Alien, Fox selected 6 fan films to showcase out of the many out there. The first is Containment, a simple story of paranoia in space. Three survivors are afloat in space on the verge of rescue, terrified of a contagion they came into contact with- the Alien. I wasn’t expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised; there’s a lot of devotion and love in such a short movie. It’s a cool little short I suggest checking out if you’re a fan. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

My Thoughts On Jordan Peele

In case somehow you haven’t heard, recently Jordan Peele said something along the lines of he doesn’t see himself casting a white lead anytime soon because he has already seen that movie. Now a lot of people have got pretty upset over this, and on the surface, this seems pretty understandable. What if Abrams said he didn’t see himself casting a black lead anytime soon, wouldn’t people be pissed? The answer is yes and it would be an equally emotional response. But let’s stop for a second here, and think of this logically. Who is Jordan Peele?

Well, it probably goes without saying, I do not know the man. I can’t just call him up and ask. I do know he is a writer, actor, comedian, and director that has won more than one Academy award. His newest movie, Us (2019) has already made millions in the box office. He is the son of a white mother, Lucinda Williams, and his father was a black man, Hayward Peele and he was raised by his single mother in New York City where he graduated High School and dropped out of college after 2 years. This you can find in a few minutes with a google search. You know what this tells me about Mr. Jordan Peele? Nothing. Not a damned thing. I know he is funny and makes great movies and shows. He might be an asshole. He might be the nicest guy you will ever meet. Maybe he kicks puppies, I couldn’t tell you.

What I can tell you is if I ever wrote a movie, I would probably never have a Mongolian lead. I have nothing against the Mongolian people or culture, I just don’t know anything about them and have no interest in seeing a movie about them. I couldn’t write a convincing character for one to play. I would write a movie about what I know and I am interested in. Probably some fat white guy drinking a Monster playing video games wishing his girlfriend would finally bring home her hot friend or at least a pizza. Hey, it’s my dream don’t judge.

Jordan, however, is more talented than I am so he writes blockbuster movies and shows like Key&Peele and Us that have strong black leads because that is what he knows and wants to see. There is no reason at all to think what he said or how he writes movies is racially motivated, any more than Stephen King mostly having White leads or me saying I probably wouldn’t have a Mongolian lead is racially motivated. He is just a guy living his dream writing movies he would like to see and that obviously his fans want to see. That is a good thing, it is what every writer in existence does. So please, stop reading into what he said and enjoy his movies for what they are and appreciate someone being honest for once, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.