Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers

halloween 4

So, let’s get this out of the way first: no I haven’t reviewed Halloween 1-3 yet. I decided to start with the “Thorn” trilogy as well as Resurrection (just because it’s such a wonderful comedy). Don’t worry, in October we’ll get the rest, but for now let’s jump into the adventures of that lovable scamp Michael Myers.

Halloween 4 begins a decade after the events of the first two. Michael, covered in burns, has been in a coma and is getting transferred to a new hospital. That is until he discovers he has a young niece in Haddonfield and busts out. Dr Loomis, seriously deformed and traumatized from his last encounter, is on the hunt for Michael again. Michael’s niece, Jamie Lloyd, has nightmares about the murderous uncle she never met and the kids at her school taunt her for it; her best friend is her big foster sister, Rachael. As Michael comes home, piling the bodies on a new rampage, it becomes evident Jamie might be closer to her uncle then she believes because evil never dies after all…

Halloween 4 is not a terrible movie, nor is it the worst in the franchise. There are some unintentionally funny as hell moments scattered throughout and quite frankly, Michael’s mask looks kind of dopey. The Ted Hollister part is one of my favorite funny parts in a horror movie. As for the story, it’s fair for a sequel with above average characters and acting as well as a cathartic ending that I feel would have been a good ending for the series but yanno, money. Like much of the series, Donald Pleasance shines as Loomis with a damn good first appearance by Danielle Harris as Jamie. In the end, it’s a fair horror sequel worth checking out if you loved the classic. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Sleepaway Camp

sleepaway camp

Many people have claimed Friday the 13th was a knock off of Halloween and then some would say Sleepaway Camp is a Friday the 13th knock off but on both counts I disagree. Sleepaway Camp is not a good movie, but holy crap it’s freaking awesome.

After a freak boating accident ( for a lack of a better word), Angela is left traumatized after witnessing her dad and brother’s death. 8 years later she lives with her whacky Aunt Martha and cousin Ricky, and is about to go to camp. Normal hijinks ensue like games, first love, and murder. People are dropping from a (cough) mysterious killer and Ricky is seemingly suspect, because no one would ever suspect poor, catatonic Angela…

I know it seems like I spoiled the ending but I assure you, the twist end of this is one of the best  WTF ending to a movie I’ve ever seen. In fact, if you and your friends are getting together for a movie night, this is a great drunk movie. The characters are over the top with a lot of messed up quotable lines. There are some memorable kills and a laughably over dramatic score. If you want a serious horror movie, this may not be for you but if you want a great WTF experience, this is worth a shot. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Maniac

maniac

There is a few times in my years as a horror fan that I’ve been rendered speechless by a movie. I’d say there is maybe 5 times in my life a movie made me speechless, Maniac is the 5th. Be warned, this is not a pleasant movie.

Frank Zito is a serial killer, slaying random women at night and scalping them to attach to mannequins, which he talks to out lonely psychosis. Through the movie we gather pieces of information about Frank’s troubled upbringing as well as the bitter loneliness and isolation he feels. He eventually meets a lady photographer he genuinely falls in love with, and for once, she seems to feel affection for him but he is haunted by the urge to stop her beauty from aging, so she would always be his…

See, I told you, this is not a pleasant movie but damn if it isn’t a good movie. Whereas 99% of horror movies have a heroine or perhaps a police plot or investigator plot, this movie focuses 100% on the killer and his day to day life. The late Joe Spinell is frankly fucking chilling as Zito who somehow is disturbingly terrifying but sympathetic despite the horrible things he does. The movie does well to not glamorize the murder scenes and feels like a legitimate story about a serial killer instead of a common Jason movie. If you can take the blood and graphic nature, it is a great acted, gritty movie I’d recommend to check out. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

South Park: the stick of truth ( Second opinion)

south park stick

We’re big South Park fans here at Saviorgaming, and Savior already gave his opinion on South Park, The Stick Of Truth and we both gave it’s sequel, South Park: The Fractured But Whole a review each. I didn’t get to play the classic last console generation and with the digital copy I got to.

A quick synopsis of the story is the kids of South Park are playing fantasy with rangers, elves, mages, etc and we play the mute, new kid who has an astounding ability- he’s able to get a shit ton of Facebook friends…and he can fart like no one’s business. But the new Taco Bell in South Park has brought on a new threat that turns it’s citizens into Nazi zombies! Can the new kid unite the kids to take on this menace?

On a whole, I feel Fractured may have had a better story, but Stick has superior gameplay. The gameplay is solid turn based combat which takes time to master, but is rewarding as hell once mastered. The game also has great boss fights that are both challenging and epic. I was disappointed by the ending, but was still solid. In the end, like its sequel, it is an amazing game I recommend picking up if you need a great laugh and want a good game. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Tag Trailer

 

I don’t know how I didn’t hear about this considering all the star power this movie looks to have, and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing yet. The premise made me do a double take at first, but after a seeing a trailer like The Happytime Murders trailer 1 I can’t really say anything is going to shock me today. The trailer looks genuinely funny and I do like the actors involved so I’d be curious where it goes, but what do you think?

House by the Cemetary

house by the cemetary

I’ve been watching some horror movies as of late, the first in the set was the unofficial third part of Lucio Fulci’s “Gates of Hell” trilogy ( City of the Living Dead and The Beyond being the first two parts.) Over a decade ago I watched The Beyond and a couple years later I saw Fulci’s Zombie, both films impacted me a lot so I was glad to see another.

The Freudstein house has had a long a sordid history of gruesome activity and murder. A young family takes the house over, the father working on research to jump start his budding career. His wife and young son are predominately left alone in this murky old house where the mom hears noises and her son keeps meeting a mysterious little girl that tells him to get out of the house, but something is lurking below them and it’s not friendly. Could it be the old Dr never left his home?

This review is rather tough. House by the Cemetery is a very eerie movie with terrific atmosphere, a great score, and some haunting practical gore effects BUT the dubbing is goofy at times, Freudstein looks likes he walked off the set of Goosebumps and there are some unintentionally hilarious things, especially with the damn son. It’s really freaking hard to say which side of the spectrum the movie falls on and in the end, that’s it’s biggest flaw. If you want something different in horror, it is a respectably freaky movie that deserves a watch, though you will laugh a few times you probably shouldn’t. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

The Happytime Murders trailer 1

 

After a small reprieve after being attacked by hordes of bird men and saving the eight dimension, I’m back to writing for the Savior once again and wow, did I come back on a good day. Savior brought a new comedy to my attention- namely The HappyTime Murders knowing my affliction of WTF movies and such. What was I expecting? I’m going to be brutally honestly, I was thinking maybe it was going to be Rob Zombie style horror, exploitation movie. Nope…it’s just, well, you’ll see. Suddenly my hype jumped to 10 and I can’t wait to see more. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Don’t Bite Me Bro

download (6)

Don’t bite me bro is a game I came across while browsing the free games with my daughter the other day. Of course since we love zombie survival games like 7 Days to Die Revisted we downloaded this and played. It is 4 players couch co-op after all, so it was natural we would give this a shot.

I will say this, the game has a cool idea, an asteroid  hits the earth and turns everyone into zombies for some reason. Well not everyone, you have to rescue a few people plus you obviously are not a zombie. So the story while cool makes very little sense.

The controls the range from nice to damn near don’t work. The truck at times barely works, at times I found I could not drive in a certain direction where I had to reset the truck’s position, thankfully this is just a push of a button. Building can also be a hassle at times, placing items where you want isn’t always easy either and there are random times the game won’t even let you place items at all tho the game does not explain this to you, you just need to figure this out.

Another large issue is you will be attacked by hordes at regular intervals, but these intervals come pretty quick. This results in attempting to explore nearby and having to rush back to defend your base. This is actually really damn annoying honestly, it gets easier tho as you save more people at least since you can set them up to defend your base, which is nice of them.

The game can be fun, but has its issues. It is pretty new and hopefully with some updates it will be improved since the game does have potential. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Brooklyn 99 Cancelled, Then Not Cancelled

brooklyn 99

This week we were hit with some terrible news. Fox has cancelled the beloved cop comedy show Brooklyn 99, may it rest in peace. Twitter went nuts flaming fox and begging Netflix to be the hero we needed and save the show. Around 24 hours later however NBC picked the show up for another season. With support from the likes of Mark Hamill and Sean Astin whom Terry Crews thanked personally more on that here you can see while maybe not a no brainer for NBC, it wasn’t exactly a risky choice. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Mothers of horror

purple dahlia

Happy Mothers Day everyone, from us to you. Without mom, there essentially is no us but even our nightmares have mommies too, or in today’s case, they maybe the nightmare. Today, we’re talking about the moms of horror, in no particular order, let’s begin with…

mrs voorhees 1. Pamela Voorhees (Friday the 13th)

She worked her bum off to give her sweet baby boy Jason a decent life but those damn fornicating teenagers let him drown. So like any good mother, rather than seeking therapy or perhaps trying to avoid this situation, she decided to rid Crystal Lake of those damn fornicating teenagers. Thanks Mrs. V

mrs bates 2. Mrs. Bates (Psycho)

“A boy’s best friend is his mother,” her son once said because it’s true, well, at least to Norman anyway. Norman loved her so much, he never let her go, but did everything he could to make her proud. Thanks Mrs. Bates

mrs white 3.Margaret White (Carrie)

It’s hard trying to bring kids up with good spiritual values and that’s all she tried giving her daughter Carrie. She warned her about those sinning bastards at her school, and gave her life to stop her enraged daughter from hurting all those innocent folks in town. Thanks Mrs. White.

queen 4. Queen Alien (Aliens)

Moms are strong, beautiful, intelligent, and organized and the Queen herself is the greatest in the galaxy, receiving thousands of gifts from the hordes of her children as she gives us all the gift of yummy eggs. Thanks your highness.

Happy Mother’s Day and may the gaming gods bring you glory.