The Blackcoat’s Daughter

blackcoats daughter

The Blackcoat’s Daughter is the story of 3 young women and a remote all girls boarding school. Katherine is a quiet, weird girl whose parent’s haven’t come to get her on winter break; Rose is pretty, popular, and is afraid because she may or not be pregnant; Joan is a mysterious girl found on the side of a road by a grieving couple and given a ride, while being followed by the cops. Katherine and Rose are stuck at the school over break, waiting for there parents to show. Something isn’t right when Katherine begins acting strange; can an old rumor be true?

This is not a basic horror movie. I will say the atmosphere, the cinematography, and sound sell the film. There is a very well done feeling of cold isolation throughout and a really good sense of dread. There are a few creepy moments and the ending is unsettling. The acting is really good from the 3 leading ladies. The story itself is a bit confusingly laid out but overall is solid. It is a slow burn and I feel many will zone out because it’s not an eventful movie and there isn’t any huge effects in it which will turn many off. I  feel the first third of the movie drags a bit too much. Blackcoat’s Daughter is a decent movie with some great aspects to it. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Backdraft (1991)

Backdraft is a 1991 Action crime drama that takes place in Chicago and follows two brothers, both firefighters, that do not get along, on their life. Younger brother and rookie Brian McCaffrey (William Baldwin) joins the force and tries to win the respect of his older brother, veteran  Stephen (Kurt Russel) after Stephen bribes someone to get Brian into his unit with him.

It doesn’t take long for this to go horribly wrong as the two always seem to have a reason to be fighting and eventually after seeing a series of fires set by an arsonist that were set to kill specific people Brian gets himself put into an investigation unit and instead of fighting fires with his brother finds himself trying to stop the criminal.

Honestly, the movie isn’t bad. It is well done and the special effects were amazing for its time. The story while at times convoluted and weird to follow is done in a pretty realistic way many times and you aren’t shoehorned into a happy ending for the sake of having one. This is however very much a movie made for firefighters and people interested in that sort of thing. In fact, almost everyone I know that loves this movie and raves about it was a volunteer firefighter at some time. If you like that sort of thing tho, there is no reason not to watch this one. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Mr B Gone

mr b gone

Clive Barker, over the past decade I’ve been trying to better myself as a writer, has been something of a inspiration to me. While his work I find pretty varied in hits and misses, he is a master of working gruesome details and making the macabre almost beautiful and creative. Since The Hellbound Heart I haven’t read a full book by him, sticking with short stories like those found in Books of Blood (vol 1) , until I read this strange oddity called Mr. B Gone…

Jakabok Botch is a pathetic demon residing in hell with his family. Beaten, hated, and scarred by them, everything changes when he kills his father as he’s pulled to Earth circa the 1400’s. After running from his captors, he sets off on a journey of menace and bloodshed amongst the weak and corrupt disguising himself as a burned man. His only partner in mischief is Quitoon, a lover, a friend, and enemy. Quitoon, fascinated by the inventions of man, is excited by a new invention that will change the world: the printing press…

After finishing the book, I really didn’t know what to think. I like the overall narrative and thought the story itself was pretty inventive. There are some great gore moments and some good dark humor moments. I didn’t like Mr B as a main character and the meta nature of the book itself irked the hell out of me. I’ve never liked stories where the narrator talks directly to the audience so that made the story slog longer for me than it should have; I will say I had to chuckle for the reasoning behind it revealed at the end. While not my favorite by Barker, Mr B Gone should be checked out if you like horror meta fiction but avoided if you want a straight narrative. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Lucifer Season 4 Ending Thoughts (Spoilers)

Once again if you missed it, this will contain spoilers for the end of Season 4 of Lucifer. So please, stop reading now if you want it the surprise reserved.

So the end of this season finally got us a few things many fans have been wanting for years. For starters, Chloe finally tells Lucifer she loves him, we get the first real kiss between the 2 of them and we get to see Lucifer in all his devil glory as he commands an army of demons back to hell.

On the flip side, we get a very emotional goodbye when Lucifer realizes as long as he stays on Earth they will disobey him and more will come, and Chloe and his friends will be at risk. So despite Chloe being upset and crying and begging he returns to hell to rule, and that is where the season ends.

I am actually quite happy with this ending. See as of now when I wrote this there is no word on a season five of the show. This ending is truly the end, it closes it all up. We got to see a goodbye between the 2, Lucifer is in hell ruling, Chloe is still a cop, Linda and Amenadiel have baby Charlie and are raising him on Earth. For the most part, it is all wrapped up nice and neat. So for me, this was a great end to a season they knew could very well be their last. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Skull and Bones delayed, again.

Yes, you read that right, the upcoming Ubisoft pirate title that is much anticipated is once again delayed, this time until 2020. It also will not be shown at E3 this year as well. This is the 2nd time the game has been delayed by around a year since its reveal in 2017 at E3 and many are starting to wonder if it can even be worth the wait. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Lucifer Season 4 Thoughts So Far (Spoilers)

As with my Game of Thrones stuff, there are spoilers here, if you haven’t watched yet and want to keep the surprise, stop reading now. This only covers the first 6 episodes.

As we all know, I am a pretty big fan of Lucifer 1-3 Impressions and I honestly was a bit nervous for Netflix to be taking over. I wasn’t sure it would maintain the charm I loved about the whole thing, and when I found out one of the first things they were doing is adding a new character in Eve to the show I was even more skeptical. I have to admit tho I am rather fond of her, and the fact that my girlfriend hates her makes me like her a bit more. The show has become a bit odd in the sense that it’s basically one step away from being a porn movie. Granted it has always been that, but now they are pushing that to new limits. For example, if you want to see Lucifer (Tom Ellis) or Aimee Garcia (Ella Lopez) walk around a nudist colony with their bare butts showing, you finally can.

I also rather enjoy that Ella has a new and improved role in the show. No not walking around naked or kissing Eve. I mean those things happen, but even tho she is still the perky lovable self she is having a crisis of faith and even professes to no longer believe in God which is ironic since she routinely hangs out with an angel and the actual devil. Chloe also has gone through quite the change after seeing Lucifer is really who he said he was. She now is walking a fine line between loving her friend and being absolutely terrified, which is fair since the Devil is historically kind of a dick in literature. The only sad part is the season is only 10 episodes. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Batman: Hush trailer 1

When I heard that Hush was going to be the next DC animated movie, I was pretty excited. Originally I was under the understanding it was going to be R rated and at first I was bummed. Regardless the animation and voice acting looks solid and I think it would be a cool, though my main fear is it being watered down. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Game Of Thrones Thoughts (Spoilers)

Before we go any further, in case you didn’t catch it in the title there are spoilers here. If you haven’t seen the latest episode and want to keep the surprises, stop reading now.

A lot of people are upset with this weeks episode and honestly, to a point, I get it, but not the part many people are complaining about. Many are upset about Dany burning the city with a dragon after they surrendered. The problem is this was always going to happen and has been hinted at for years. She burned a witch alive in season one and in season 2 she literally said if she was turned away when her dragons grew up she would burn their city first and in that same season also said she would take what was hers with fire and blood. Then multiple times in the last season she outright says she wanted to just take her dragons and burn the city. This isn’t even counting the times she just had her dragons burn random people she could have killed in any number of ways. No, if you thought this wasn’t what she was always going to logically do yo simply were not paying attention.

My issue comes in at the death of Jamie and Cersei. First, let me get it out of the way, yes it is poetic and makes sense. I just feel robbed that after watching Jaime be a complete dick for all these years and toss a kid out a window and ditch Brienne of Tarth after destroying Tormunds chances with her, the couple we all wanted to have, this incestuous bastard and his crazy sister get crushed by a rock. Close to a decade and over 70 episodes waiting to see these two get what they deserve, and she gets crushed with a building. Yea, I feel robbed. That being said, I don’t have an issue with her breakdown, it made sense. What mother wouldn’t have one knowing she was about to die and her unborn child, the last one she would have after the death of her others was going to die with her, and freedom was just on the other side of a tunnel. It is enough to destroy anyone, and for s that wanted to see her go, that will have to be enough. Best wishes, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Mass Effect 3

mass effect 3

Continuing after the events of Mass Effect 2 Shepherd has returned to the Alliance on Earth and Cerberus has began running amok. If that wasn’t troubling enough, the Reapers have began harvesting more races and changing them into monsters. The story begins with the unimaginable, the Reapers descending on Earth, obliterating Alliance HQ and Shepherd, traumatized by the devastation watches as the clock starts ticking. Generations of conflict between races  must be settled if any race across the universe is to survive, but can Shepherd unite entire worlds in a seemingly hapless war when time is short and the Illusive Man still lurks around…

Mass Effect 3 has been said to be one of the biggest disappointments in modern gaming and arguably it began the decline of EA’s reputation. Of the trilogy, I admit its the weakest entry but still an awesome game. The opening is awesome in it’s sheer scope and sets up an emotional final entry. While you get a smaller roster of characters as you’re allies this time, with the exception of one, you have prior relationships with your team. Many for the characters you’ve encountered through the trilogy come have satisfying conclusions and throughout the game there are some great tear jerk scenes. Gameplay is still fun and fluid but while in the Normandy, there are some new check points that slow you down all of a sudden. It’s also kind of point less that they have a stealth take down mechanic but I rarely found a time to use it. The ultimate endings are meh but as I see it, with such a epic build up, its rare a ending could have matched the hype. In the end, it was a solid end to what many consider one of gaming’s greatest trilogy. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Happy Mothers Day

The title on this one really says it all. Today is mothers day, and I know more than a couple of my readers are just that, mothers. I also have kids of my own and a mom, so this short post is dedicated specifically to them. We may complain about you and your constant whining and nagging, but we appreciate and love you anyway, mostly because if you didn’t nag us we really would forget most of what you keep telling us needs to be done. Enjoy your day, and may the gaming gods bring you glory.