WTF world. Sherlock Homes has been done to death. Seriously, I can’t count how many times it’s been done and how many interpretations there have been. I watched this trailer and groaned. Why is this a thing I don’t know but I can hope it comes out ok. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Category: Horror
The Hills Have Eyes

Last House on the Left was legendary horror director Wes Craven’s first big film and the impact it had was huge, pushing boundaries and kicking ass. His second major feature to follow would only solidify his status as a renegade of horror.
The Hills Have Eyes, like Last House, is simple but full of layers. The Carter family is on vacation, driving through the desert after receiving the deed to a silver mine as a anniversary gift ( I know, WTF but let’s go with it.) They come by a grizzly old guy who runs a rundown gas station who gives them a short cut, a short cut that leads to disaster as they break down in the middle of the desert with there RV, miles from anywhere. The oldest men set out for help, leaving 2 women, 2 teenagers, and 2 dogs behind. They aren’t alone however. The hills are inhabited by a group of incestuous cannibals that are watching the Carters and when night falls, they strike on family. The father is burned alive, the mother and oldest daughter are killed and a baby stolen leaving the daughter’s husband alone with the teens and 1 dog left. the husband rushes into the desert to face the cannibals and get his daughter back while the kids are left to fend for themselves. Can they survive?
I have a massive amount for this movie and the influence it had and the boundaries it pushed but I cannot lie, it didn’t age great. Back then, Hills struggled not to have an X rating; in 2018 it could pass for PG-13 I’d d wager if reevaluated. There is almost no bad language, not much blood and no real nudity. I have a glaring issue with the narrative itself. I feel the beginning and end are too abrupt, especially the ending; I feel there should be more to the beginning to either give the characters more time to develop or develop the situation and the end feels like a car crash, you just slam into it. The cannibals mostly feel like the family from Texas Chainsaw Massacre only with a more deformed, Mad Max twist. Michael Berryman, the iconic face of the film, is great and is a genuinely eerie presence on screen. It’s filmed alright and the score is there but nothing memorable. In the end, by today’s standards the original Hills Have Eyes is an ok horror movie that had some groundbreaking ideas for it’s time but has softened with time but worth a watch. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Supernatural Season 12

Supernatural season 12. What the hell are you doing to me guys? This season focuses around the guys trying to stop the birth of Lucifer’s son and dealing with the British chapter of The Men of Letters. See at first aside from a minor incident of torture they are quite helpful, until they go back to not being helpful.
This season is pretty great, except for the ending. Don’t get me wrong the end of season 12 is great, but be prepared to be pretty damn upset. I won’t spoil it for you but the series in a way is going to go through a pretty massive shake up.
Aside from that we once again get a pretty definitive ending to one arc that will bring us firmly into the next story in season 13. Tho this time we had a pretty major story that brought us into another pretty major story. My only real complain is if you remember waaaaay back into the apocalypse seasons where Lucifer was this big dangerous evil being, they seem less worried about him now. Not that he isn’t still powerful and invincible, but the rush before of stopping him seems to be gone. In fact the entire act of figuring out a plan and stopping him is largely just the last episode or 2 of the season. After 12 seasons I am still enjoying the show, and I don’t see season 13 changing that. But there are some things you have to look past. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Nailbiter vol 2: bloody hands

A special thanks goes out to my long time friend Violet who got me volumes 2 and 3 as a birthday gift after finding out how nuts I was after Nailbiter: vol 1 there will be blood ; absolutely awesome gift…
The town of Buckaroo is suffering a familiar hit after the Murder Store was burned to the ground, the local high school asshole/ reverend’s son ended up dead, press and attention are running amok again as a new killer in the long line of Buckaroo Butchers seems to be afoot. A big, broad shouldered figure in black wearing a horned mask. Nick Finch, enraged after finding what was left of his best friend is out to track down the secret of the Butchers and stop them once and for all; Sheriff Shannon Crane is trying to keep the peace but it’s easier said then done. Finch finds a family of bee obsessed red necks; the long time town bus driver loses his mind and tries to “cleanse” the children’s souls by drowning them in the river. This madness and more while the horned killer watches and Finch is pushed to the edge, driving to Warren- The Nailbiter- for answers…
Volume 2 is strange but another great addition to the series. This world feels oddly realistically crazy, I can’t say it ever felt too scripted but rather natural how much of it goes down. At first, it does feel like filler but it does help build up to the madness to come. I like the chapter about real life comic book writer Brian Michael Bendis and his journey to Buckaroo and the chapter about Crowe the bus driver. As before there are grim undertones of dark humor that work pretty well in a dark story. The art is creepy and looks good. Overall, if you read the first book, the second won’t disappoint and I can’t wait for the third. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Man Up (2015)

Man Up is the story of a blind date that went wrong mostly because it involved the wrong people. More specifically the wrong woman. See when Jack (Simon Pegg) meets up with his blind date it turns out due to a weird coincidence he meets up with Nancy (Lake Bell) thinking she is his date, Jessica. Nancy is happy to let him think this however since she is surprised by how mice he is. The date is going great actually, that is until she is caught in the bathroom with a guy threatening to blackmail her by telling Jack the truth.
The story itself is pretty nice and is quite original, the problem is much of it is quite cliché. The ending, the date itself, the dance scene. It’s all quite been there done that in romantic comedies which is disappointing. Not that it was done badly, quite the opposite. Simon Pegg and Lake Bell play their roles well and worked well together. The script was also well written, my issue is simply that an original idea falling back on so many old tropes saddened me.
All that being said, I still suggest a fan of romantic comedies check the movie out. It’s still pretty above average and worth checking out at least once. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Hide in the Light trailer
Hide in the Light looks like a nice, simple low budget horror movie. I like idea of having to stay in the light and the dark being more than just creepy. While not my kind of horror movie, it still looks to be worth checking out and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Child’s Play Creator Less Than Happy With New Chucky

Recently the Child’s Play Reboot started filming. and creator Don Mancini doesn’t seem to happy. You can see his Twitter post by clicking the link. He isn’t the only one tho. The rumored new plot also seems quite odd. The origin story itself has been completely wiped and been replaced with a guy killing himself after reprogramming it. The odd part of this is the original line of movies will still be going on with Don. See one studio, MGM, holds the rights to the original movie. Universal owns the rights to the sequel. This is how the Reboot can happen while the sequel can keep going.
Personally I am not looking forward to the reboot, but the sequels haven’t exactly been great recently either. We shall see tho, best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
The Witch 2015

The Witch (2015) is an odd film for me. It involves a family on a farm who have lost a son and is being tormented by a witch. As the movie goes on this family in the 1600’s becomes more and more paranoid.
I won’t get into to many specifics on the movie or its story because honestly the fun of this movie is deeply dependent on not knowing much about the story itself, and I worry by telling you too much I will spoil the experience. The acting is well done and as a period piece it is actually one of the best I have ever seen. As far as I can tell most of not all of ti was filmed using natural lighting or at lighting for that time such as candles. The clothing choices also seem to do a very good job of matching that as well.
The sound of it all is also rather nice, with the actors doing a fair job at talking in an older dialect of English. I do however have a few issues with the movie. First off the movie can only sort of be called a horror or thriller movie since it rarely attempts to do either of those things. There also wasn’t too much excitement to be had. The story was interesting, and the last 20 minutes or so was great but I would have liked a little more.
The movie itself however is only worth watching for certain people. I don’t mind a slow-paced period piece so for me it was a pretty good movie. The story was interesting and the religious zealousness was pretty well done. However, for those looking for a fast paced and exciting horror movie, this is not what you are seeking. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.
Epic Dumpster Bear: Dumpster Fire Redux

I have to thank Savior for introducing me to the crazy ass game. Seriously, this is literally Goat Simulator level WTF. The plot is simple, but dare I say epic. You play as a bear whose home was destroyed by a greedy conglomerate and forced to eat out of dumpsters- but no more! He’s on a epic adventure for bears everywhere…see what I mean?
The game is a old fashioned Mario style plat-former that’s tough but fair. There’s a lot of obstacles and while you are a bear, you only take 2 hits before you die. To kill enemies, you primarily have to jump on them, unless you have the army helmet power up, then you can lob bombs at them. Some power ups include a fish head which gives you double jump power via farting and the army helmet to kill enemies and blast away obstacles. The game is simple but challenging. Every world gets harder but I never felt it was impossible. I don’t like that you slip when you run like you are on invisible ice which causes some bullshit deaths- by the way, there is only one checkpoint per stage so you will be repeating yourself a lot. I love the wacky blend of 3-d rendering of the bear and the vintage style graphics. The game is fun and funny as hell and I highly recommend it as a old school or WTF game. May the gaming gods bring you glory.
Supernatural Season 11

And here we are, season 11 of Supernatural. We are catching up fast guys, I may need a new show soon. This is the season where we get to see the showdown between Amara and Chuck. This can also be known a the Brother/Sister showdown between God and his sister.
The season is on and off in terms of excitement. In terms of lore and back story however there is a lot to unpack and its a great time to do it. This season also bounces back and forth between hunting regular monsters and the main story dealing with Amara herself.
You won’t run into the big G himself until about episode 20, from there things move pretty quick. I won’t spoil any of those things for you but that is where season 11 goes from on and off to simply amazing. At one point the end seems a bit meh only to discover it isn’t even the end which honestly I liked. This season tho definitely was an interesting one in terms of story. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.