Warhammer 40k Inquisitor Martyr (Xbox one)

warhammer

hey kids, do you like Diablo? Do you like killing thousands of enemies with magic and swords? Want to try it with a guns in the 41st century in a space setting? If you said yes to all or most of these questions than Warhammer 40k Inquisitor Martyr might be for you. Just do not try to say the name three times fast, there is a reason people write and say 40k as opposed to forty thousand. Can any of you think of a longer name off the top of your head?

Insanely long name aside Warhammer from Bigben interactive ( PC version was by Neocore games) is of course of the Action RPG genre and much like Diablo will see you running around kill insane amounts if stuff to find better gear to better kill insane amounts of stuff. That is not to say this game is exactly like Diablo, far from in fact. They are just similar in style in some areas.

Graphically the game won’t win any awards, but the ship looks good and the character models are nice. My time with the ,didn’t see any major glitches or issues, so don’t expect any Mass Effect Andromeda type things happening. The voice acting was well done and I enjoyed it tho some people may feel differently as that sort of thing can be subjective at times. I also enjoyed the ever-changing maps that thankfully change constantly using prefabricated parts.

BlqsxODQ

Now for the downside, for starters I wasn’t a fan of the inventory system, that being said most inventory systems seem pretty cumbersome in these games and at this point it is just the nature of the beast. The same can be said for the very repetitive combat system. While the effect of the various skills look nice they won’t make up for the fact that at times I felt like I was simply mashing buttons while working my way through a truck load of enemies for no other reason than to get better gear. This isn’t so much an issue with Martyr as it is the genre as a whole and there isn’t anything that can be done about it to be truthful, it is just something to be aware of.

j1trA_Ug

Now the reason you are all here, should you buy this game? In all honesty I would not. I won’t tell you not to tho. It is an average game and fans of the genre will enjoy it I think. Its PC counterpart has pretty average reviews and I expect the Xbox one and PS4 will get the same. From me? 7/10 an average game that fans of the genre will probably like, but probably wait for a sale or rent it.

One final note, I played this game based off a Review copy provided by the company which I am eternally grateful for. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers vol 4

power rangers 4

Picking up where Mighty Morphin Power Rangers vol.3 left off, the remaining Rangers find themselves being lured lured into Drakken’s clutches. Finster has created a small army of perfected Gouldars to meet them for an ambush once they cross worlds. The rebellion Zach and Trini lead is about to be crushed by Drakken’s army as Trini tells Billy how he died giving them the only chance they have left- the Triceratops power coin. Zordon finds himself dead in that time, caught in the loop racing in to help his rangers there. After a brilliant move on Trini’s part, Drakken’s power is disrupted as well as his army’s but can Tommy stop his evil self once and for all?

It was a badass end to this part of the story, but I do wish I got to see the final clash between the Green Ranger and Drakken, instead of them powered down. It is cool in the flashbacks to see rangers of other eras mix but ultimately fall to Drakken. the way they beat Drakken is kinda kooky but hey, it’s Power Rangers. If you’re a fan, I’d suggest the comics definitely for a good story and the nostalgic value alone. Thanks to my friend Autobot for loaning me the books; below are links to other Power Ranger comic reviews. May the power protect you and the gaming gods bring you glory.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Pink

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: vol 1 Mighty Morphin Power Rangers vol 2  Mighty Morphin Power Rangers vol.3

Power Rangers Shattered Grid Trailer

Fallout 76: Vault-Tec Episode “A New American Dream” — All The PlayStation You’ll Ever Need.

Fallout 76-A New American Dream trailer gives us some humorous cartoon footage. Gamescom 2018 has been a surprise today and nothing fits it better than this Vault-Tec spot that lays out the guidelines on how to rebuild for the future. The episode is called, “A New American Dream: Laying the Cornerstones” and if you’ve ever […]

via Fallout 76: Vault-Tec Episode “A New American Dream” — All The PlayStation You’ll Ever Need.

Some games I hate to love…

toast

Hi, everyone. you must be wondering why you’re looking at a picture of toast right now? Well, friend, I hate that I love toast. It leaves crumbs everywhere, gets burned easy, and people automatically think you’re high when you randomly crave 5 pieces of toast and jelly at 2 in the morning. But, I don’t care, toast is awesome. I wanted to talk about some games I hate to love- fair warning, some of these games I’ve given ass reviews for but still played for one reason or another anyway. In no particular order let’s begin with the most recent on the list…

dead by daylight 1. Dead by Daylight –

This game is no masterpiece. It frankly kinda sucks alone and even with a buddy but my friends Speedy and Artemis proved that with a fair group, there’s some fun to be had at 1 in the morning.

dark souls 2 2. Dark souls 2…oh my –

The game pisses me off but I still jump in and play it. It got me through a shitty time in life and I’m grateful, but I swear this game makes me rage in ways no other Souls game has.

alienscm  3. Aliens: Colonial Marines –

This game is and will always be stinky ass cheese, but the first time I played it, I loved it. There were friends and booze and nostalgia. Subtract all this and you get a steaming pile of dookie.

borderlands ps 4. Borderlands: The Pre-sequel –

This maybe my favorite game on this list. It’s the worst of the series I admit and there is a lot of stuff in it that makes my teeth grind but the story kept me going, and I defend the story to this day.

I hope you enjoyed my list and my the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Chasing Amy (1997)

download (1)

Chasing Amy is one of the earlier Kevin Smith movies, tho not one of the Jay and Silent Bob movies. Starring Ben Affleck, Joey Lauren Adams and Jason Lee the story is about two comic book writers, Ben and Jason just doing their thing when they meet another, less popular writer, Adams.

Holden (Ben) and Adams (Alyssa) of course eventually fall in love after much chasing by Holden. Tho Alyssa is, or was a lesbian her entire life. Jason (Banky) doesn’t really approve of it, and he makes this quite well-known. He actually is quite homophobic to the point he claims lesbians that don’t hate men aren’t even real, kind of like the Easter Bunny or Santa. ( His Claim not mine)

Eventually however we find out that Alyssa is not as innocent as she pretended to be. Not that this is either bad or good, it simply is what it is. She has however been with men in the past, something she did in fact lie about. This doesn’t sit well with Holden. It is also later revealed that part of why Banky disliked Alyssa so much is he himself has some pretty homosexual tendencies.

The movie itself is pretty well done and is good for plenty of laughs and thought-provoking at times and is worth a watch, the movie however should not be taken overly seriously. Like many Kevin Smith movies there is plenty of social commentary to be had but over all it is simply fun and childish at times. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

28 Days Later

28 days later I’ve been touched by a lot of amazing movies over my 27 years on Earth (as well as some lame movies). As time goes on, our feelings change, sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worst. 28 Days is one of those very, very few that hasn’t lost the profound impact on me all these years later.

It all begins with good intentions gone awry. A group of animal activists break into a lab and free a group of test chimps, unaware of the horrible virus they carried. 28 days later, a guy named Jim wakes up from a coma. He is completely alone. He leaves the hospital, he walks the streets screaming for someone, anyone; no one answers. After hours, he comes upon people, but they don’t respond. They chase Jim. All hell breaks loose. Selena saves him from getting mauled to death, having to kill one of her own group mates to survive. She tells Jim about the viral outbreak that swept through Britain and how just a single drop of infected blood can transmit the fast acting Rage virus. Jim goes home and finds his parents killed themselves after reading there note. The two find themselves on the run, joining a father and teenage daughter, Frank and Hannah and together they have to journey across the country, avoiding these rabid infected towards there glimmer of hope…

28 Days Later rendered me speechless when I first saw it on TV back when I was in middle school. I never had an interest in zombies until the Resident Evil (movie 2002) but I never found them really scary, until this movie. The Rage zombies are damn scary as hell. They’re fast, they’re rabid, and what I liked is how they were physically toned down but still looked freaky. These zombies aren’t missing pieces or overly bloody, but there red vacant eyes, pale skin were a nice touch. The actors are fantastic; there aren’t many horror movies where I’m genuinely saddened a character dies or where they are in danger but here they felt real. The cinematography and score are beautiful. Seeing Jim isolated, hearing his voice echo was mind blowing. The twist the story takes at the end is pretty cool and bad ass. I consider this movie a horror classic and I highly recommend seeing it, may the gaming gods bring you glory.

Terminal

terminal

I’m glad there are movies coming out in 2018 that make my jaw drop and make me ask WTF did I just watch. I saw the Terminal trailer a little while back and was hooked by it’s neon visuals. When it popped up on Hulu, I jumped at the chance to watch this strange gem.

Bill is a English teacher who’s dying from a terminal illness who pretty much has nothing else left to live for. After waiting for a train that isn’t coming, he finds himself alone in a desolate diner with an attractive but mad waitress. This waitress has a messed up double life as an upcoming contract killer who must face off against competition so she could work for a mysterious Mr Franklin. This is just the beginning of this ever twisting neon noir, because no one is who they seem and nothing is what you thought at the end of the rabit hole…

I can tell you right from the get-go, this movie ain’t for everyone. This is almost the definition of a cult movie: it strange, looks and sounds amazing, and has recognizable actors  in roles you sure as hell don’t see them doing, but doing well. Margot Robbie absolutely steals the show here in honestly my favorite performance from her yet followed closely by Simon Pegg in a more somber performance. Robbie and Pegg worked amazingly together. Again, the visuals are beautiful. The only flaw I see is that it does drag a bit and the fact you don’t know what the hell is going makes the movie feel longer than it is. I personally really liked it but I know it won’t be for everyone, but it’s worth checking out if not for the performances and visuals alone. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

 

Zombie Spring Breakers (2017)

download

Every so often I see an interesting looking B movie so I check it out. Sometimes they are great sometimes I watch them and wonder why in the hell I was dumb enough to watch it. This time it fell somewhere in between. The movie was not good, but it was an interesting concept and the actors really put their hearts into making what was clearly a bad movie and making it at least fun, which they did.

The basic idea is in a world where people worry about zombies the way people worry about catching a terminal disease a group of friends and one sister go on a vacation for spring break. We have the usual group, guy and girl who broke up fighting a bit, the hot sister and the perverted friend that later turns out to be a virgin, the quiet foreigner that becomes heroic later, you know the crew. Anyway, eventually things go bad and the race to get off the island begins. It has its moments of being funny, but for the most part it’s a cliché zombie B movie with some nudity and small amount of gore. It is interesting enough or fans of B movies, but for everyone don’t bother watching it. Also the ending is legitimately ridiculous. I understand where it came from and why, and it was admittedly pretty original and clever, it just made much of the movie pointless. Bonus points tho for doing something new tho. I don’t regret watching it, but I feel like I would be in the minority there. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.

American Horror Story: Coven

ahs 3 So Coven is the third American Horror Story and this time we get a more magical twist on things. Namely witchcraft vs voodoo.

Zoe, a young teen, has a mysterious accident that leaves her boyfriend dead and a hell of a lot of questions to be asked. She is sent to Miss Robichaux’s Academy in New Orleans, a boarding school for girls with issues like this. She finds out she’s a witch descended all the way back to Salem, as well as her classmates with there own dangerous gifts and troubled pasts.A change in power is coming at the school as Madison, the mean girl of this school, is taken under the wing of dying supreme witch Fiona and an old grudge between Fiona and a ageless voodoo priestess gets wicked in this creepy power struggle…

I’m going to be blunt, I love this season but it ain’t much of a horror story. There’s frightening imagery but I got more of a R rated Hogwarts vibe. Still, I always was fascinated by witchcraft and voodoo and the season takes an interesting approach them. The characters are all solid and Kathy Bates and Angela Basset are welcome additions. The pacing and the smooth flow make it the most engaging, so if you are a newcomer, I’d recommend. checking this season out first. May the gaming gods bring you glory.

Project Hospital Preview

images

Recently it was announced that Project Hospital would be released on October 30th 2018. With that announcement Oxymoron Games decided to give some of us a little preview of the game, and I greatly appreciate being one of the people getting to preview this long-awaited game.

For those that aren’t aware, Project Hospital is a tycoon style management game. It is done in quite a realistic way, you will need to build rooms to deal with any number of issues ranging from the common cold to more severe issues requiring surgery. You will need to manage staff for both a night and day shift,from doctors down to janitors each with specific needs.

The game will start you off with a few short and easy to follow tutorials. They will guide you thru the basics of hiring and building of a hospital. It will prepare you adequately tho they do leave quite a bit for you to figure out on your own. That isn’t a bad thing, none of it is to hard just there really. But how bout the game play and the graphics?

Well graphically the game looks pretty good. It won’t win any awards or blow your mind but it gets the job done. The sound also falls into the same category really if I am being honest. Admittedly I have never met anyone that plays a tycoon game and does it for graphics and sound. It is all about the game play and functionality, and outside of a few minor issues that can easily be fixed by the time the game launches the game really shines in this department. One example is for some reason when placing an employee in a room the employee was offset from where my mouse was by a good 2 or 3 inches. Janitors also seem to act pretty odd at times but they warned us about that going into the whole thing as well.

At the end of the day the preview version is a late build beta with a few things still to be added and polish to be done and just over 2 months until release. With that much time clearly things will be improved. Before plaything this I was looking forward to the game, and now I am down right excited. October 30th will be a good time for tycoon fans. Best wishes and may the gaming gods bring you glory.